Inside ASU, News for Faculty & Staff, Arkansas State University
100th Year

March 31, 2010

Calendar highlights:

Fourth annual Northeast Arkansas Social Work Month conference and awards ceremony, Friday, April 2,
8 a.m.-12 noon, Centennial Hall



Inside ASU Archive

KASU Public Newsroom
KASU Local News

ASU Home Page

E-mail Directories

First Friday

Human Resources

ASU Athletics

Inside ASU
is produced by the
Office of University
Room 103
Administration Bldg.

(870) 972-3056 
fax (870) 972-3693

University Planning Committee meets today
ASU's University Planning Committee will meet Wednesday, March 31, at 9 a.m. in the board room, 8th floor, Dean B. Ellis Library. 

Don Moore, colleague, present research
Don Moore, ESL instructor, the International Center for English (TICE), along with his colleague Dominic Micer (Purdue University NoDon Moorerth Central), recently attended and conducted a workshop at the Conference on College Composition and Communication (CCCC) in Louisville, Ky.  Building on a series of presentations from the 2009 CCCC in San Francisco and the Association for General and Liberal Studies (AGLS) in St. Louis, and adding their own classroom interactions over the course of a year-and-a-half, their workshop, "Creating an Activist Service-Learning Community," explained and demonstrated specific strategies for implementing, sustaining, and assessing service-learning projects using multiple classes (seven overall) of first-year composition. Participants engaged in discussions about semester-long service-learning projects that rely on Weblogs, Ning and multiple public writing assignments. Moore and Micerís research shows how relational knowledge and practices are reached by having students interact with the community to develop a skill set that helps them transform their knowledge to solve everyday issues without relinquishing the right to critique these issues. Moore and Micer contend that service-learning courses, along with social technology and reflective writing practices, create the possibility for relational learning.

ASU Concert Orchestra performs April 5
The Department of Music at Arkansas State University in Jonesboro will present the ASU Concert Orchestra in concert on Monday, April 5, at 7:30 p.m. in Riceland Hall, Fowler Center. The orchestra is under the direction of Dr. Neale Bartee. The concert is free of charge and open to the public. The evening’s performance will include “Symphony No. 5 in Bb Major, Allegro” by Franz Schubert; “Symphony No. 8 in F Major, Allegretto scherzando” by Ludwig van Beethoven; “Symphony No. 9 ‘From the New World,’ Allegro con fuoco” by Antonin Dvorak, conducted by graduate student Roby Johnson; “Overture to ‘Zampa’” by Ferdinand Herold; “The Doll Song” from “Tales of Hoffmann” by Jacques Offenbach, featuring ASU voice faculty member Dr. Marika Kyriakos, soprano; “Russian Sailor’s Dance” from “The Red Poppy” by Reinhold Gliere; and “Pirates of the Caribbean” by Klaus Badelt, arranged by Ted Ricketts. For details, contact the music office at ext. 2094, or see the NewsPage release. Donations may be made to the Orchestra fund or the Aileen Matthews String Scholarship fund by contacting the department.

Annette Simmons in Honors Lecture of the Year April 6
The fifteenth event of Arkansas State University’s Lecture-Concert Series, and the Honors Lecture of the Year, will feature Annette Simmons in “The Power of Story.” The lecture is Tuesday, April 6, at  7 p.m. in the Student Union Auditorium. The lecture is free and open to the public. Simmons is the president of Group Process Consulting and the author of several books, including “The Story Factor: Inspiration, Influence and Persuasion Through the Art of Storytelling” (named as one of The 100 Best Business Books of All Time) and “Whoever Tells the Best Story Wins.” Her lecture is co-sponsored by the Honors College, the Graduate School, the College of Business, the College of Communications, the College of Humanities and Social Sciences, and the College of Nursing and Health Professions. The Honors Lecture of the Year, now in its second year, is an annual event. The Honors College is the main organizer, but the lecture is supported by a university-wide coalition of students, faculty, staff, and administrators. The Honors Lecture of the Year aims to stimulate campus discussion through academic discourse about issues that affect higher education. For details, contact Dr. Gil Fowler, associate dean for the Honors College, or Rebecca Oliver, director of student services, the Honors College, at ext. 2308.

Dr. Botts to lecture in CoHSS spring seminar series April 6
Dr. Michael Botts, Criminology, will give the sixth of a series of research presentations by faculty members in the College of Humanities and Social Sciences in the college's spring seminar series. Dr. Botts will speak on Tuesday, April 6, from 4-5 p.m. in Wilson Hall 217C (the Konold Room). Dr. Botts will present, "Internment in the U.S.A.: Review of Past Internment Practices and Future Possibilities."  He will examine uses of internment in the U.S., beginning with Native Americans. He notes that the U.S. has utilized the internment of groups of peoples, ostensibly for the security of the nation. Utilization of internment for national security creates a structural contradiction in which the overt values of political freedom and national security oftentimes conceal a maintenance of the status quo or the advancement of a power elite. Various past implementations and plans for internment will be explored. In addition, present political climate and future possibilities are examined. Pertinent international and domestic law will also be reviewed. For details, contact Dr. Veena Kulkarni, series coordinator, ext. 3331, or see the NewsPage release.

Distinguished Performance Awards ceremony is April 27
ASU will hold its annual service recognition and distinguished performance awards program Tuesday, April 27, for classified and non-classified personnel. The ceremony will be held at 1:30 p.m. in the Centennial Hall, ASU Student Union, and will be followed by a reception in the Alumni Lounge. This program was initiated in 1994 to recognize outstanding job performance and long-time service by the universityís non-faculty employees. Nine employees will receive Distinguished Performance Awards in their respective employment categories. The employees, their departments, and their employment categories are - Margaret Watson, Information and Technology Services, Executive Managerial/Administration category; Terry Carty, Facilities Management, and Darla Fletcher, Registrarís Office, both tied for the Non-Faculty Professional category; Jennifer Douglas, Registrarís Office, Technical/Para-Professional category; Polly Cronos, Finance & Administration, Secretarial/Clerical category; Larry Darr, Facilities Management, Skilled Crafts category; Ruth Ann Miles, Facilities Management, Service/Maintenance category; Soni Walton, Human Resources, Part-Time category; and Penny Payne, Customer Service category. The Customer Service Award is determined based upon nominations by ASU students.  Each winner of the Distinguished Performance Award will receive a plaque and a savings bond.

Back to the top