Arkansas State University


Markham Howe
Sara McNeil
Gina Bowman

(870) 972-3056
fax (870) 972-3693

More information:

Links to News Releases
& Announcements

KASU Public Newsroom
KASU Local News

Campus Calendar
Public activities at ASU

About ASU
Overview, history
and more

Department of Music presents ASU Concert Orchestra performance April 5

March 29, 2010 -- The Department of Music at Arkansas State University in Jonesboro will present the ASU Concert Orchestra in concert on Monday, April 5, at 7:30 p.m. in Riceland Hall, Fowler Center. The orchestra is under the direction of Dr. Neale Bartee. The concert is free of charge and open to the public. 

The evening’s performance will include “Symphony No. 5 in Bb Major, Allegro” by Franz Schubert; “Symphony No. 8 in F Major, Allegretto scherzando” by Ludwig van Beethoven; “Symphony No. 9 ‘From the New World,’ Allegro con fuoco” by Antonin Dvorak, conducted by graduate student Roby Johnson; “Overture to ‘Zampa’” by Ferdinand Herold; “The Doll Song” from “Tales of Hoffmann” by Jacques Offenbach, featuring ASU voice faculty member Dr. Marika Kyriakos, soprano; “Russian Sailor’s Dance” from “The Red Poppy” by Reinhold Gliere; and “Pirates of the Caribbean” by Klaus Badelt, arranged by Ted Ricketts.

Personnel for the ASU Concert Orchestra include Kate Ryan, Bill Keisker, Sebastian Tarkington, Emily Meeker, and Anastasia Tarkington of Jonesboro, William Overcash of Brinkley, Yu Zhang of Beijing, China, and Roby Johnson of East Prairie, Mo., first violin; Ann Swaty, Jennifer Hutchinson, Hope Smith, Friedric Tarkington, Sean Carey, Samantha Meeker, and Tanja McKay, all of Jonesboro, second violin; Marcia Burns and Xavier Tarkington of Jonesboro, Ashley Reeves of Memphis, Tenn., and Ashley Hancock of Pine Bluff, viola; Meghan Matthews, Patrick Moore, Elaine Bartee, and John Hegger, all of Jonesboro, cello; Kevin Cremeens of Westside and David Eckert of Jonesboro, bass; Sara Bedingfield of Nashville, Tenn., piano; Hannah Wakefield of Huntsville, AL, Candice Crawford of Hot Springs, Lauren Henderson of Piggott, Erynn Fenner of Jonesboro, Caitlyn Sammons of Bald Knob, and Sunnie McCarty of Highland, flute/piccolo; Sara Bedingfield of Nashville, Tenn., Justin Stewart of Mobile, Ala., Kellie Laughlin of Piggott, and Clay Rucker of Salem, oboe/English horn; Kim Roberson of Morrilton, Kristen Smith of Paragould, Chris VanBrook of Hoxie, and Kim Winchester of Jonesboro, clarinet; S’Bastien Isom of Paragould and Lauren Bryant of Harrisburg, bass clarinet; Josh McFalls of Searcy and Dale Clark of Jonesboro, bassoon; Jeremy Lloyd of Gosnell, Megan Bishop of Paragould and Greg Osborne of Jonesboro, horn; Meagan Conley of Luxora, Jon Stevenson of Little Rock, and Hunter Webb of Marion, trumpet; Treavor Mitchell of Westside, Colton Morrison of Magnolia, and Nathan Peoples of Nettleton, trombone; Kory O’Brien of Batesville, tuba; Cassie Blevins of Westside, Cheyenne Sheperd of Jonesboro, Brandon Smith of Williford, Matt Boston of West Memphis, and Keedrick Campbell of Lepanto, timpani/percussion.

Donations may be made to the Orchestra fund or the Aileen Matthews String Scholarship fund at the ASU Foundation, P.O. Box 1990, State University, AR 72467

For more information about the concert or ASU music, contact the music office at (870) 972-2094. 

                                                       # # #

  NewsPage:  |  Back to TOP  |