Inside ASU, News for Faculty & Staff, Arkansas State University
                                                                                         If you experience problems viewing this e-mail, click here for the online version.
100th Year

Jan. 20, 2010

Calendar highlights:

2010 Arkansas Soil and Water Education Conference, Thursday, Jan. 21,
8 a.m.-3 p.m.,
Convocation Center

Delta National Small Prints Exhibition 2010 opening reception, Thursday, Jan. 21,
5 p.m.,
Bradbury Gallery

Lecture-Concert Series presents Humberto Fontova in
“Exposing the Real Che Guevara and the Useful Idots Who Idolize Him, Thursday, Jan. 21,
7 p.m.,
Student Union Auditorium


Inside ASU Archive

ASU Home Page

E-mail Directories

First Friday

Human Resources

ASU Athletics

Inside ASU
is produced by the
Office of University
Room 103
Administration Bldg.

(870) 972-3056 
fax (870) 972-3693


Fowler Center Series presents I Musici de Montréal
The Fowler Center Series presents its fifth event of the 2009-10 season in Riceland Hall on Tuesday, Jan. 26, at 7:30 p.m., when it kicks off the new year with I Musici de Montréal. This performance is also part of the Riceland Distinguished Presentation Series. Founded by cellist and conductor Yuli Turovsky, I Musici de Montréal is a chamber orchestra of 15 musicians that presents a vast repertoire extending from the baroque to the contemporary. The orchestra presents a busy schedule of over 100 concerts per season throughout the world, including three prestigious series in Montreal. This extraordinary amount of activity places I Musici de Montréal amongst the most important touring orchestras in Canada. This exciting program from I Musici de Montréal features Mussorgsky’s “Pictures at an Exhibition,” with animated projections of award-winning painter Natasha Turovsky’s images. The startling new paintings honor the Victor Hartmann canvasses which inspired Mussorgsky’s composition, now lovingly envisioned for chamber orchestra. For details, visit Fowler Center online, call Fowler Center at ext. 3471, or see the NewsPage release.

Medieval guild hosts scholarly symposium
The Red Wolves Medieval Guild of ASU will host its first "Symposium on the History of Fine Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences in Medieval Times" on Saturday, Jan. 23, on the second floor of Wilson Hall. The keynote speech will begin at 9:30 aImage courtesy of Kat Black, retrokat clip art..m. in Wilson 204, and presentations will run from 10-11:50 a.m. Following a luncheon for presenters, presentations will resume at 2 p.m. and end at 5 p.m. Benjamin Stone, an undergraduate History Education major, will present "The Origins, Medical Care, and Militarization of the Knights Hospitaler" from 10-10:50 a.m. in Wilson 216. Martin Okolik, a graduate Political Science major, will present "Influence of Mongol Administration System on Russia and Russian Society" from 11-11:50 a.m. in Wilson 216 . Dr. Cyndy Hendershot, English, will present "Monty Python and the Middle Ages" from 2-2:50 p.m. in Wilson 216. John T. Dunn, Northwestern State University of Louisiana, will present "Suger, Aquinas, and the Gothic and Romanesque Movement in Art" from 3-3:50 p.m., and the symposium's final presentation, "Beowulf and Politics," will be presented by Dr. Antony Oldknow, Eastern New Mexico University, from 4-4:50 p.m. For details, contact Emily Carroll.

Faculty Achievement Awards information is now available
Arkansas State University offers three Faculty Achievement Awards. Each of the three awards provides a monetary stipend of $2,500. The awards include the Arkansas State University Board of Trustees Faculty Award for Teaching, the award for Scholarship, and the award for Professional Service. Only full-time tenured or tenure-track faculty members are eligible for the awards. The awards are based upon faculty achievement during the preceding calendar year (January 1 - December 31, 2009). Previous recipients continue to be eligible in successive years. Deadlines for the Faculty Achievement Awards are drawing near, with the deadline for nominations and applications to department chair or program director of non-departmentalized colleges falling on Wednesday, Feb. 17. The deadline for department chairs to forward nominations and applications to department committees and to request supporting documentation from the nominees/applicants is Friday, Feb. 19. The deadline for department committees to receive supporting documentation from nominees/applicants is Friday, Feb. 26. A complete schedule of deadlines is available online, as are selection procedures and criteria for the Faculty Achievement Awards. For more information, call the Office of Academic Affairs and Research, ext. 2030.
Back to the top