Inside ASU, News for Faculty & Staff, Arkansas State University
98th Year

Nov. 2, 2007


* Lecture-Concert Series presents Dr. Michael Eric Dyson, tonight, 7 p.m., Fowler Center

* ASU Museum presents Día de los Muertos celebration, tonight,
6-9 p.m., ASU Museum

* Lecture-Concert Series presents pianist
Jennifer Blyth,
Sunday, Nov. 4,
3 p.m., Fowler Center

* Daylight Saving Time ends Sunday, 2 a.m.


Inside ASU Archive

Campus News
faculty & staff

ASU Home Page

First Friday

Human Resources

Inside ASU
is produced by:

Office of University
Room 102
Administration Bldg.

(870) 972-3056 
fax (870) 972-3069


Groundbreaking for Health Sciences Center is tomorrow
A groundbreaking ceremony formally beginning construction of the Donald W. Reynolds Center for Health Sciences will take place Saturday, Nov. 3, at 12:30 p.m. at the project site. The site is immediately north of the Chickasaw Building, east of Caraway Road. The public is welcome to attend. The Donald W. Reynolds Foundation provided $14.5 million, the largest single gift in ASU's history, for construction of the three-story center. For details, contact the College of Nursing and Health Professions, ext. 3112, or see the NewsPage Release.

Dr. Charlott Jones recognized for lifetime achievement
Dr. Charlott Jones, professor emerita, recently received the Peg Newton Smith Award for Lifetime Achievement for 2006 from the executive board of the Arkansas Museums Association (AMA). Dr. Jones directed the ASU Museum for 16 years, retiring in June of 1999. Under her advocacy, the museum hired its first paid educator and began an endowment. The award recognizes her significant and ongoing contributions to the preservation of Arkansas' heritage through a lifelong commitment to the museum community. The three jurors for the remainder of the AMA awards included Dr. Robert Franklin, KASU Public Radio.

Teacher Education starts Software Preview Center
The Department of Teacher Education has initiated a preview center for educational software, with the first session to be held Saturday, Nov. 3, from 10 a.m. until 4 p.m. in the Education Computer Lab, Room 209. Dr. Dianne Lawler-Prince, chair, said the center was made possible through the donation of educational software valued at more than $180,000 from ERJ Associates and Orchard Software, along with additional software donations from Tom Snyder Productions and materials from Sunburst Software Corp. Dr. Diana Williams, Educational Technology, is the Preview Center coordinator. Pre-service and in-service teachers, administrators, and librarians are invited to visit the center on the first Saturday of each month.

Countdown to Torchbearers Celebration has begun
The countdown has begun. Become a member of Torchbearers today, and join colleagues Wednesday, Nov. 7, for breakfast or for happy hour. Door prizes include two tickets to the Temptations at the Convocation Center. The 585 members of Torchbearers are faculty and staff donors to the ASU Foundation, helping to enhance and support academic programs. Members receive a gift, an invitation to celebrations, a tax deduction, and the satisfaction of knowing they make a difference. For details, call the Office of Development at ext. 3940.

ASU Wind Ensemble begins its 2007-08 Concert Season
The ASU Wind Ensemble performs its first concert of the season Tuesday, Nov. 6, at 7:30 p.m., in Riceland Hall, Fowler Center. The ensemble is under the direction of Dr. Timothy Oliver, director of bands and coordinator of Wind and Percussion Studies. The concert is free to all. For details, call the Department of Music at ext. 2094.

Non-Trad Student Success Lecture Series continues
As part of a two-day student celebration, Non-Traditional Student Services continues its Success Lecture Series on Tuesday, Nov. 6, 12 p.m.-3 p.m., in the Mockingbird Room, Student Union. Jerrod O. Lockhart will be the featured speaker. RSVPs are required for this event; call ext. 2055. For a complete listing of non-traditional student activities scheduled for Monday-Wednesday, Nov. 5-7, see this calendar of events or contact Kimberley R. Johnson, Student Affairs.

Back to the top