May 12, 2003

On campus:

* "Dos Hombres," exhibition of works by Tom Chaffee and Steve Mayes, Bradbury Gallery, Fowler Center,  thru July 27

More news 
& information:

HLC Self-Study Report

Campus News
faculty & staff achievements


Upcoming  Events

Send ideas and feedback:

ASU Web Resources:

ASU Home Page


About ASU

ASU Museum

Dean B. Ellis Library

E-mail Directory

Fowler Center

The Herald

Human Resources

Indian Athletics

Institutional Research

KASU-FM 91.9

Inside ASU 
is published  by the
Office of University

Inside ASU Archive

University Communications
Admin Bldg. 102
fax (870) 972-3069

Board approves faculty promotions & tenure appointments
The Board of Trustees of Arkansas State University Friday approved the promotion or tenure appointment of several faculty members, following review by the University Promotion, Retention and Tenure Committee and upon recommendation of the administration.  Congratulations to all!
  Those promoted to professor are: Dr. Jeane Harris, English and Philosophy; Dr. David Boyd, Accounting, Finance and Law; Roger Carlisle, Art; Dr. Tom O’Connor, Music; and Dr. Elizabeth Stokes, Nursing.
  Those promoted to associate professor are: *Dr. Kim Pittcock, Agriculture; *Dr. Erik Gilbert, History; *Dr. Robyn Hannigan, Chemistry and Physics; *Dr. Gina Hogue, History; *Dr. Warren Johnson, Languages;  Dr. Robert Lamm, English and Philosophy; *Dr. Jie Miao, Computer Science and Mathematics; *Dr. Patrick Stewart, Political Science; *Dr. Jack Zibluk, Journalism and Printing; Dr. Matthew Comeau, Health, PE and Sport Sciences; *Dr. Tom Fiala, Teacher Education;  Dr. Lina Owens, Teacher Education; Dr. Kurt Stahura, Health, PE and Sport Sciences; *Craig Collison, Music; *John O’Connell, Theatre; Kim Vickrey, Art; *Dr. Pat Arangie, Nursing.
  Those receiving tenure are designated above (*) along with Joe Bonner, Music
, and Dr. Phyllis Skorga, Nursing.

New and revised academic programs approved 
Four new programs and changes in four others were approved by action of the Board of Trustees Friday.  These proposals will be submitted to the Arkansas Higher Education Coordinating Board for approval at that level.
  New programs approved:
* Master of arts in biological sciences;
* Master of science in education -- educational theory and practice;
* The AAS degree in information systems technology with an emphasis in office specialist, at ASU-Mountain Home; 
* AAS degree in general technology at ASU-Newport.
  Revisions approved:
* Renaming of the bachelor of arts in social work to bachelor of social work;
* Renaming the master of science in education -- counselor education to master of science in education -- school counseling;
* Adding a new emphasis area, special education program administration, in the Ed.S. educational leadership program;
* Adding a new minor, leadership studies.

Board approves Honors College, other resolutions
During the Board of Trustees meeting by telephone conference call Friday, several other proposals were approved.  In addition to the new and revised academic programs (see item above), the following actions were approved by resolution:
* Renaming the Honors Program to the Honors College, effective Jan. 1, 2004.
* Naming the new family apartment complex, Indian Village Apartments, and each of its 14 buildings.
* Naming the ASU Student Health Center, which is under construction;
* Renaming the Wilson Student Health Center, on Caraway Road, to the Wilson Advising Center.
* Naming the new Student Union, and its various indoor and outdoor spaces;
* Establishment of the maximum number of provisional positions for all campuses;
* An amendment to a previous resolution concerning financing the cost of completion and furnishing the Student Union;
* Agreements for summer athletic camps;
* A revised mission statement for ASU-Beebe (due to its merger with Foothills Technical Institute);

Appointments and re-assignments 
Several administrative appointments and re-assignments of duty were approved at the Board of Trustees meeting Friday:
* Dr. Aldemaro Romero, chair, Department of Biological Sciences;
* Dr. George Grant, dean, Library and Information Resources;
* Dr. Hector Flores, dean, College of Sciences and Mathematics;
* Dr. Andrew Sustich, interim dean, College of Humanities and Social Sciences;
* Dr. Warren Johnson, chair, Department of Languages;
* Dr. Charles Joiner, chair, Department of Social Work (College of Nursing and Health Professions);
* Dr. Pat Freudiger Teddlie, interim chair, Department of Criminology, Sociology and Geography;
* Dr. Tom O'Connor, chair, Department of Music;
* Dr. Jerry Linnstaedter, chair, Department of Mathematics and Statistics;
* Verlene Ringgenberg, dean, Center for Regional Programs.

E-mail reminder on use of resources policies
An e-mail distributed today to all faculty and staff at ASU provides a summary of policies regarding the use of university resources.  A copy of the same information is posted at

Indian mascot will stay
Also at the Friday Board meeting, Dr. Les Wyatt, president, announced that he has found significant support for the continued use of the Indians as the university's athletic mascot. While he said he respects the Faculty Senate's sentiment on the issue, he will not forward to the Board a proposed resolution calling for a change. Mike Medlock of Jonesboro, a member of the Board, also read a statement of support for continuing the tradition.

Back to the top