April 27, 2006

This week:

*  Delta Symphony Orchestra, concert
7:30 p.m., Saturday,
Fowler Center

* Reception for Encyclopedia of Arkansas contributors, 1:30 p.m. Tuesday, Dean B. Ellis Library, 8th floor

More news 
& information:

Inside ASU Archive

Campus News
faculty & staff


Strategic Planning

First Friday

Send ideas and feedback:

or hart@astate.edu

ASU Web Resources:

ASU Home Page

E-mail Directory
for faculty and staff

Human Resources

Indian Athletics

Inside ASU
is produced by the
Office of University
Admin Bldg. 102
fax (870) 972-3069

Psychology faculty members attend conference
Five members of the Department of Psychology and Counseling presented Dr. Loretta McGregorresearch at the 52nd annual conference of the Southwestern Psychological Association held earlier this month in Austin, Texas. Presentations were Dr. Amy Pearcegiven by Dr. Loretta Neal McGregor, Dr. Amy Pearce, Dr. Latoya Pierce, Dr. Robert Johnson, and Dr. David Saarnio. Dr. Irina Khramtsova was unable to attend, Dr. Robert Johnsonbut co-authored a paper with undergraduate student Coral U. Machado, who presented the research. Other undergraduate students also served as co-authors Dr. Irina Khramtsovaand attended the conference. Those students were Mary L. Porter, Alicia D. Burns, Rebecca Breckenridge, Alexandra N. Ramsey, Tabitha Fentress, Jennifer Mauldin, and Faith McMath. Sean Gearson, Laura Howard, and Rachel Roland served as co-authors, but were unable to attend. Dr. McGregor serves as the program chairperson and the convention chairperson for the Southwestern Psychological Association.

Education award given for math/science projects
At the recent Kappa Delta Pi initiation ceremony, the "Educators Make a Difference Award" was presented to the Northeast Arkansas Math/Science Partnerships. These include the Rural Institute for Mathematics and Science Education with Janie Trautwein, director; Wallece Brewer, secondary math specialist; and Debby Rogers, elementary science specialist; and the Delta Institute for Mathematics and Science Education with Dr. Cynthia Miller, director; Karen Busby, secondary math specialist; and Linda Kellum, elementary science specialist. This award is presented to an individual, institution, organization, program, or project that makes notable contributions to the field of education. Congratulations to all!

Dr. Latoya Pierce receives doctoral degree
On Monday, May 22, a Ph.D. in counselor education from The University of New Orleans will be conferred upon Dr. Latoya Pierce, Psychology and Counseling. In addition to her degree, Dr. Pierce will be named the Outstanding Doctoral Student in the Counselor Education Program. Congratulations to Dr. Pierce!
For all the latest faculty and staff achievements, go to Campus News. 

Reception Tuesday for Encyclopedia contributors
The Heritage Studies Ph.D. Program will host a dessert reception in honor of those who contributed to the Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture on Tuesday, May 2. The reception is from 1:30 until 3 p.m. in the eighth floor seminar room of the Dean B. Ellis Library. Watch for a list of ASU personnel who were involved with the online encyclopedia, which will debut the same day, in the Monday edition of Inside ASU. For more details about the reception, contact the Heritage Studies office at 972-3509.  More information about the Encyclopedia project is at http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net.

May Commencement updates
May Commencement will be held on Saturday, May 6, with two ceremonies in the Convocation Center. A reception will be held following both ceremonies on the upper level mezzanine for graduates and their friends, family and faculty.
  10 a.m. Commencement will include the College of Agriculture, College of Business, College of Engineering, College of Humanities and Social Sciences, and the College of Science and Mathematics. James Bishop of Jonesboro, this year's Wilson Award recipient, will be the speaker for the morning commencement.
  2 p.m. Commencement will include the College of Communications, College of Education, College of Fine Arts, College of Nursing and Health Professions, University College and Regional Programs. Candace Martin of Jonesboro, outgoing SGA president, will be the speaker for the afternoon commencement.
  The Military Science Department will hold its commissioning ceremony on Friday, May 5, from 3:30 - 4:30 p.m. at the National Guard Armory.

Two New Student Orientation sessions added!

Due to the overwhelming demand for New Student Orientation (NSO) sessions, two additional sessions have been added. The Office of Admissions will immediately begin taking reservations for the new dates, which are on Thursday, June 15, and Thursday, June 22. Announcements will be made to students who are already admitted to ASU. Thanks to all who work so hard to make the NSO sessions a success for our new students!

Back to the top