Inside ASU, News for Faculty & Staff, Arkansas State University
                                                                                         If you experience problems viewing this e-mail, click here for the online version.
100th Year

April 14, 2009
Special Issue

Calendar highlights:

Convocation of Scholars Week,
April 13-20

Undergraduate Scholars Day, Tuesday, April 14, Student Union



Inside ASU Archive

Campus News
faculty & staff

ASU Home Page

E-mail Directories

First Friday

Human Resources

ASU Athletics

Inside ASU
is produced by the
Office of University
Room 102
Administration Bldg.

(870) 972-3056 
fax (870) 972-3069


2009 Wilson Award presented to Gregory Kyle Fulton
Gregory Kyle Fulton of Jonesboro, a senior at Arkansas State University in Jonesboro, was named today as the recipient of the R. E. LeeGregory Kyle Fulton of Jonesboro is the 2009 Wilson Award winner. Wilson Award for 2008-2009 at the 76th annual Student Honors Awards ceremony in the Student Union Auditorium. Fulton is the 123rd recipient of the award and was chosen by unanimous vote of the Student Honors Selection Committee.

The Wilson Award, ASUís most prestigious student award, is presented annually to the most outstanding graduating senior. The committee's selection from among the nominees is based upon character, determination, involvement and academic achievement, as well as
leadership in organizations and activities of general campus significance. Fulton is a native of Jonesboro in Craighead County, and is the son of Ronald and Loretta Fulton of Jonesboro. He majors in biology pre-professional and Spanish through both the College of Mathematics & Sciences and the College of Humanities & Social Sciences. Fulton will graduate In Honors, and has been named to the President's List and Chancellor's List each semester since his freshman year. He served as public relations director for the ASU Student Government Association, was selected for 'Who's Who Among Colleges and Universities' and was chosen for an intensive language program in Costa Rica where he lived for a month with a family who spoke no English.

The Wilson Award is presented at the annual Student Honors ceremony during Convocation of Scholars Week, and is the highlight of the annual event.  The Wilson Awards have been presePerry Wilson presents the Wilson Award to Gregory Kyle Fulton.nted since 1934 and are named in honor of R.E. Lee Wilson, a member of the institutionís Board of Trustees from 1917 to 1933. Wilson Hall was completed in 1932 with his help.  This building, named for Mr. Wilson, is the oldest building on campus and is the site of The Scholar, the symbol used today to portray ASUís mission to educate, enhance and enrich lives.

Wilson was dedicated to ASUís development, and a member of his family has presented the award each year. Perry Wilson of Little Rock, great-great grandson of R. E. Lee Wilson, presented this yearís award medallion. Margo Travis AufderHeide, who received the Wilson Award in 1976, presented Fulton a scholarship check from the Wilson Fellows, comprised of past winners, to continue his education.

Distinguished Service Awards announced yesterday
ASU Chancellor Dr. Robert L. Potts presented the Distinguished Service Awards, which are based on scholarship, contributions to student life, and involvement in university activities. This year, 23 students were nominated for a Distinguished Service Award.
Distinguished Service Award winners are, from left, Yana-Janelle Scott, Kevin Linker, Rachel Caitlin Farris, Kyle Fulton, Quan Poole, Heather Gillion, and Brian C. Flagg.
Distinguished Service Award winners are, from left, Yana-Janell Scott, Kevin Linker, Rachel Caitlin Farris, Kyle Fulton, Quan Poole, Heather Gillion, and Brian C. Flagg.

In addition to Fulton, the recipients of the annual Distinguished Service Award for 2008-2009 were Rachel
Caitlin Farris, Brian C. Flagg, Heather Gillion, Kevin Linker, Quan Poole, and Yana-Janell Scott.
All of the Distinguished Service Award winners have numerous achievements in leadership roles, campus activities and academics. For details about this year's Wilson Award winner, or the Distinguished Service Award winners, see the NewsPage release.
Back to the top