April 13, 2006

This week:

Gen. Colin L. Powell, tonight

ASU Choirs, combined concert

Banking Roundtable, Monday 

More news 
& information:

Inside ASU Archive

Campus News
faculty & staff


Strategic Planning

First Friday

Send ideas and feedback:

or hart@astate.edu

ASU Web Resources:

ASU Home Page

E-mail Directory
for faculty and staff

Human Resources

Indian Athletics

Inside ASU
is produced by the
Office of University
Admin Bldg. 102
fax (870) 972-3069

Diversity Excellence Awards announced
Recipients of the 2006 Diversity Excellence AwardsAt yesterday's Diversity Excellence Awards Luncheon in the Grand Hall of Fowler Center, four individuals, one department and one student organization were recognized for their commitment to enhancing excellence through diversity. They were Dr. Lynita Cooksey, Academic Affairs; the staff of the Office of Admissions; Ms. Barbara Doyle, University College; the International Student Association; Dr. Gloria Gibson, dean of the College of Humanities and Social Sciences; and Dr. Andrew Sustich, dean of the Graduate School and The Honors College. The keynote speaker for the event was the Honorable Arkansas Court of Appeals Judge Wendell Griffen of Little Rock. Congratulations to all the honorees for representing ASU so well.

Dr. Len Frey named to district council
Dr. Len Frey, dean of the College of BusinessDr. Len Frey, Dean of the Business College, has been named to the Arkansas District Export Council, with the U.S. Department of Commerce. District Export Councils are organizations of leaders from local business communities, appointed by Secretaries of Commerce. For more than 30 years, these councils have served the United States by assisting companies in their local communities export, thus promoting the country's economic growth and creating new and higher-paying jobs for their communities. Congrats to Dr. Frey. 
For all the latest faculty and staff achievements, go to Campus News. 
Legacy Society Wall of Honor unveiling

The Board of Directors of the ASU Foundation will host a dedication for the Legacy Society Wall of Honor on Friday, April 21, at 12 noon in the rotunda of the Dean B. Ellis Library. The dedication will feature an unveiling of the new Wall of Honor, displaying the names of those individuals who have remembered ASU in their estate plans. Everyone is invited.

Gen. Colin L. Powell, USA (Ret.) speaks tonight
The Liberty Bank Distinguished Lecture Series will present Gen. Colin L. Powell, USA (Ret.) tonight at 7:30 p.m. His address on Diplomacy: Persuasion, Trust, and Values will be in Riceland Hall of Fowler Center. Any student with an ASU ID may pick up a free ticket at the Office of Development, Administration Building, room 103, before 5 p.m. today. The students' informal session with Gen. Powell will begin at 6:30 p.m. in the Drama Theatre.
  Cameras, cell phone cameras, video cameras, and recording devices may not be used at the lecture.  Everyone's cooperation is greatly appreciated, as these requests were specified in the contract with Gen. Powell.
For a news release about Powell's visit, see the NewsPage.

Wind Ensemble to perform April 20
The Department of Music will present the Wind Ensemble in concert on Thursday, April 20, at 7:30 p.m. in Riceland Hall of Fowler Center. The Wind Ensemble is conducted by Ed Alexander. Musical selections for this concert will include Metropolitan Fanfare, Dawn Reflections at Arlington, the world premiere of Three Junes, and Hounds of Spring, William Byrd Suite, and Irish Tune from County Derry. The concert is free and open to the public. For more details, please call the Department of Music at 972-2094.

Banking management roundtable is Monday
The McAdams-Frierson Chair of Bank Management and the College of Business will host "Regulatory Roundtable for Commercial Banks" on Monday, April 17, from 4 p.m. to 6 p.m. auditorium of the Student Union.  A reception will follow. The McAdams-Frierson Chair of Bank Management Endowment was established and is supported financially by commercial banks in Northeast Arkansas. Participants will include Sue Madson, FDIC in Chicago; Robert H. Adcock Jr., state banking commissioner; and Timothy A. Bosch, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. ASU students and faculty interested in finance and banking are invited to attend free of charge with an ASU ID.  Click here for details.

Meeting for next Delta Blues Symposium
The Department of English and Philosophy will conduct a meeting to discuss the most recent Delta Blues Symposium and to decide on a theme and dates for next year's program. Anyone interested in participating in next year's Delta Blues Symposium XIII should attend this meeting, which is scheduled for Tuesday, April 25 (study day), at 10 a.m. in Wilson Hall, room 315.  This is a campus-wide invitation, according to Dr. Rick Burns of the symposium committee.

Back to the top