Inside ASU, News for Faculty & Staff, Arkansas State University
98th Year

April 8, 2008
Special Edition

Calendar highlights:

Arkansas Review presents George Singleton,
Monday, April 14,
3 p.m., 3rd floor,
Dean B. Ellis Library

Sir David Attenborough's "In Cold Blood" documentary preview, with research by Dr. Stan Trauth, Tuesday, April 15,
12 noon, Hall of Science

"Lakeport Lives On" documentary premiere, Wednesday, April 16, 4:30 p.m. and
5:30 p.m., ASU Museum, Room 182


Inside ASU Archive

Campus News
faculty & staff

ASU Home Page

E-mail Directories

First Friday

Human Resources

ASU Athletics

Inside ASU
is produced by the
Office of University
Room 102
Administration Bldg.

(870) 972-3056 
fax (870) 972-3069

Wilson Award winner, DSA winners announced
Rachel Leigh Smith of Jonesboro, a senior at Arkansas State University in Jonesboro, was named today as the recipient of the R. E. Lee Wilson Award for 2007-2008 at the 75th annPerry Wilson, great-great-grandson of R. E. Lee Wilson, presents the award medallion to Rachel Smith, this year's Wilson Award winner.ual Student Honors Awards Ceremony in the Student Union Auditorium.
The Wilson A
ward, ASUís most prestigious student award, is presented annually to the most outstanding graduating senior.  The Wilson Award committee's selection from among the nominees is based upon character, determination, involvement and academic achievement. The Wilson Award is presented at the annual Student Honors Ceremony during Convocation of Scholars week, and is the highlight of the annual event. The award is named in honor of R. E. Lee Wilson, a member of the institutionís Board of Trustees from 1917 to 1933. This year, Little Rock attorney Perry Wilson, great-great-grandson of R. E. Lee Wilson, presented the award. Smith is the daughter of Wesley and Mallory Smith of Jonesboro. Her advisor is Dr. Deborah Chappel.

Distinguished Service Award winners were:
Evette Allen of Arkadelphia, advised by Dr. Thomas Bagland, Andrew Geswein of Huntington, Indiana, advised by Mike Doyle,  Candice James of Bryant, advised by Pradeep Mishra, Cathy Naylor of West Memphis, advised by Dr. Sarath Nonis, Tera Ramsey of Trumann, advised by Dr. Richard Neeley, and Andrew J. Wilson of Harrison, advised by Dr. Mary Jackson-Pitts. For details, see the NewsPage release.

2008 Chancellor's Scholars, 4.0 Scholars receive awards
Dr. Robert L. Potts, chancellor, ASU-Jonesboro, today announced the winners of the Chancellorís Scholar Awards for 2007-08.These awards are presented to the graduating senior in each college who has the highest overall grade point average. GraduateKara Taylor, Melissa Griffin, Candice James, Dr. Robert L. Potts, Barbara Combs, Grant Harbison, and Jon Skinner are all assembled after the Student Honors Awards ceremony.s from August and December 2007, as well as those graduating in May of this year, were eligible.
Recipients and their respective colleges were Chelsea Cheri Dowler, Agriculture; Melissa Griffin, Business; Candice Renee James, Communications; Patricia K. Smith, Education; Jon T. Skinner, Engineering; Grant Wheeler Harbison, Fine Arts; Barbara Combs, Humanities and Social Sciences;  Kara Taylor, Nursing and Health Professions; Candy S. Lincoln, Sciences and Mathematics; and Heather McNamee, University College. Dr. Dan Howard, vice chancellor, Academic Affairs and Research, presented the awards during the 75th annual Student Honors Awards ceremony. For details, see the NewsPage release.

Back to the top