Inside ASU, News for Faculty & Staff, Arkansas State University
100th Year

March 22, 2010

Calendar highlights:

Spring break is March 22-26

ASU celebrates Women's History Month, Tuesday, March 2-Tuesday, March 30



Inside ASU Archive

KASU Public Newsroom
KASU Local News

ASU Home Page

E-mail Directories

First Friday

Human Resources

ASU Athletics

Inside ASU
is produced by the
Office of University
Room 103
Administration Bldg.

(870) 972-3056 
fax (870) 972-3693


Dr. Srivatsan, colleagues, present research
Dr. Malathi Srivatsan, Molecular Biology, Dr. Mahadevappa P. Badanavalu, postdoctoral research associate, and Caleb Pingel, graduate student, recently attended and presented their research data at the ASME First Global Conference on Nanoengineering for Medicine and Biology held Houston, Texas.  Their research presentations on (a)  interaction of nanomaterials and neurons, (b) metal nanoparticles associated neurotoxicity and (c) nanotubes for regeneration in the nervous system were  well received. Dr Srivatsan was invited to chair a session at the workshop on 'New Frontiers of Nanomedicine and Biomedical Informatics'  at this meeting. Her discussion of the research she performed at ASU had attracted interest from researchers in China and South Korea  and is leading to new research collaborations.

Dr. Engelken, colleagues, publish paper in journal
Dr. Robert Engelken, Electrical Engineering,  and co-authorsTansel Karabacak, Hye-Won Seo, and Fatih Cansizoglu from the University of Arkansas at Little Rock, recently had the paper, High Optical Absorption of Indium Sulfide Nanorod Arays Formed by Glancing Angle Deposition, published in the American Chemical Society journal, ACS Nano. Their collaboration involved the study and modeling of the optical properties of the semiconductor indium (III) sulfide as a prelude to its use in photovoltaic cells. ACS Nano is a peer-reviewed monthly journal publishing comprehensive articles on the synthesis, assembly, characterization, theory, and simulation of all aspects of nanoscience and nanotechnology, including nanomaterials and assemblies, nanodevides, nanobiotechnology, nanofabrication, and self- and directed-assembly. ACS Nano won the 2008 American Publishers Award for Professional & Scholarly Excellence (PROSE) eProduct/Best Website or Platform and for Best New Journal in Science, Technology, and Medicine.

Dr. Claxton, Dr. Hall, graduate students present research
Dr. Amy F. Claxton and Dr. John D. Hall, both Psychology and Counseling, and students enrolled in the EdS program in Psychology and Counseling, School Psychology Track, recently presented their research at the National Association of School Psychologists (NASP) annual convention in Chicago. Their poster presentation was "School Psychology and Response to Intervention Services: A Survey of State Practitioners." Students attending were C. Tyler Crittenden, Jessica L. Biggs, Heather W. Baxter, Kara L. Drewry, and Meghan M. Matthews-Adair.

Staff Senate nominations are open through March 24
Nominations to fill open staff senator positions will be accepted through Wednesday, March 24. Click here to nominate up to five (5) people to serve from your EEO category. The number of open seats is shown below. Log in using your network ID and password.  After login you will see a list of employees in your EEO category—make your selection(s), and click “Nominate” at the bottom of the screen to complete the process. There are no open seats in the Executive Managerial/Administrative category. There are 3 open seats in the Professional Non-Faculty category. There are 2 open seats in the Technical/Para-professional category. There are 2 open seats in the Secretarial/Clerical category. There is one open seat in the Skilled Crafts category. There are 3 open seats in the Service/Maintenance category. Information on Staff Senate representation is available in Article 5 of the Staff Senate Constitution and Bylaws. Voting will take place as quickly as possible after nominees are contacted for acceptance. Nomination forms are available at For details, contact Cindy Bode, Staff Senate vice president, ext. 3057.

Back to the top