Arkansas State University


Tom Moore
Frances Hart

(870) 972-3056
fax (870) 972-3069

More information:

Links to News Releases
& Announcements

Upcoming Events
Public activities at ASU

Campus News
Faculty and Staff

About ASU
Overview, history
and more

ASU Home Page


Department of Music presents 
Concert Orchestra on Nov. 1

Oct. 19, 2005 -- The Department of Music at Arkansas State University in Jonesboro will present the Concert Orchestra on Tuesday, Nov. 1, at 7:30 p.m. in Riceland Hall of Fowler Center.

The Concert Orchestra is conducted by Dr. Neale Bartee.  Musical selections for this concert will include “West Side Story” by Leonard Bernstein, arranged by Jack Mason; “Canzonetta for Oboe and String Orchestra” by Samuel Barber, orchestrated by Charles Turner with a solo performance from Dr. Dan Ross; “Celebration Dance” by Aaron Copland; “Nimrod” by Edward Elgar; “Slavonic Dance #8” by Antonin Dvorak; “Symphony No. 8 in B Minor” by Franz Schubert; and “Hungarian March” by Hector Berlioz. 

Personnel for the Concert Orchestra include concertmaster Kate Ryan of Memphis, Garrett Overcash of Brinkley, Roby Johnson of East Prairie, Mo., Cecily Kennemore of Paragould, Jamal Lee of Pine Bluff, Bill Keisker and Samantha Meeker, both of Jonesboro, first violins;  William Overcash of Brinkley, Ann Swaty, Ellen Burns, Jane Anfinson, Friedric Tarkington, Sebastian Tarkington, and Jennifer Hutchinson, all of Jonesboro, second violins; Murray Therrell of Paragould, Chris Overcash of Brinkley, Marcia Burns and Paul Markowski, both of Jonesboro, violas; Meghan Matthews and Elaine Bartee, both of Jonesboro, cellos; John Hays of Jonesboro, bass; Lindsay Walker of Hot Springs, A.J. Wetton of Van Buren, Mo., and Melinda Watts of Nixa, Mo., flute/piccolos.

Members also include Amy Dunivan of Jonesboro and Emily Quinn of Bradley, Ill., oboes; Mylie Brown of Walnut Ridge, Tony Saylors and Kristina Brewer, both of Pocahontas, clarinets; Misti Cook of Russellville, bass clarinet; Bryan Eckert and Carissa Porter, both of Jonesboro, bassoons; Jeremy Wortham of Paragould, Rachel Smith of Benton, Laura Thompson and Phillip Pruett, both of Jonesboro horns; Ben Light of West Ridge, Josh Gardner of Paragould, Jonathan Monroe and Ryan Mullenix, both of Jonesboro, trumpets; Daniel Harrelson of Warren, Seth Weston of Jonesboro, and Ryan Riley of El Dorado, trombones; Ryan Riley of El Dorado and Daniel van Aalburg of Hardy, tubas; Perry Harper of Paragould, Iggy Ferguson of Newark, Adam Weiss of Pocahontas, Chris Knight and Camaron Walton, both of Sylvan Hills, timpani/percussions; and Priscilla Noyes of Dexter, Mo., piano.

The Concert Orchestra wishes to thank members of the Omicron Omega Chapter of Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia for their assistance in stage management of this concert. 

Donations may be made to the Orchestra fund or the Aileen Matthews String Scholarship fund at the ASU Foundation, P.O. Box 1990, State University, Ark. 72467. The concert is free and open to the public. For more details, please call the Department of Music at (870) 972-2094.

# # #

NewsPage:  |  Back to TOP  |