Arkansas State University


Markham Howe
Sara McNeil
Gina Bowman

(870) 972-3056
fax (870) 972-3693

More information:

Links to News Releases
& Announcements

Campus Calendar
Public activities at ASU

About ASU
Overview, history
and more

ASU to host Yellow Ribbon Task Force meeting to discuss veterans' issues

August 11, 2009 -- Arkansas State University will serve as host for the August 2009 meeting of the Yellow Ribbon Task Force. The Yellow Ribbon Task Force was appointed by Governor Mike Beebe approximately one year ago to focus on addressing issues faced by Arkansas veterans returning from deployment overseas and aging veterans with increasing health needs. The meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, Aug. 12, at 10 a.m. in the Spring River Room in the Student Union on the third floor.

A noon luncheon will be held in the Centennial Hall, also on the third floor of the Student Union. Several special guests will be present including,

Members of the 875th Arkansas National Guard leadership team that are currently making preparations for possible deployment to Afghanistan later this year,

David Farnsworth, Director the Arkansas Wounded Warrior Program,

Participants of the Beck PRIDE Center for America’s Wounded Veterans program,

Lt. Col. Jeffrey Helms, ASU ROTC program and his cadre,

Conrad Reynolds (COL USA, Ret.) who will present a special U.S. flag flown over his post in Iraq last year to hang in the Beck PRIDE Center Day Room,

Nicole Hart with Governor Mike Beebe’s staff who will present an Arkansas flag to ASU for the Beck PRIDE Center.

One of the topics scheduled for discussion is the Federal Tuition Assistance supplemental benefit program.

 “Hosting the Governor’s Yellow Ribbon Task Force is a outstanding opportunity to showcase ASU-Jonesboro as a progressive and “military friendly” higher education institution; as well as garner recognition that our university is a statewide leader in ‘best practices’ of providing educational opportunities for student-veterans,”  said Susan Tonymon.  “ASU- Jonesboro is number one in the state regarding Federal Tuition Assistance funds paid for Arkansas Army National Guard Personnel, as reported by the Arkansas Adjutant General’s office.” 

Federal Tuition Assistance (FTA) is a supplemental benefit to Arkansas National Guard (ANG) personnel paid in addition to the Montgomery GI Bill and the Guard Tuition Incentive Program funds. For the Arkansas National Guard fiscal year 2008, ASU-Jonesboro, ranked first in the state, received approximately $320,800 or 17 percent of the total amount of FTA funds paid to the state’s public institutions.

Arkansas Governor Mike Beebe appointed 20 members to the Arkansas force in July 2008, including Tonymon. In addition, she was selected to serve on Healthcare/Disabilities and Public/Private Partnerships and Community Resources committees. Chancellor Robert L. Potts accepted an appointment from Governor Beebe as an ex-officio member of the task force.

“We are delighted to host the Yellow Ribbon Task Force for its monthly meeting,” stated Chancellor Potts.  “ASU, through its vigorous support of Army ROTC and the Arkansas National Guard for many years, and now also with the Beck PRIDE Center in the College of Nursing and Health Professions, has been a service-friendly campus dedicated to supporting the brave men and women who serve in our nation’s armed forces.

 “We want to help veterans as they return to civilian life and seek to further their education and seek employment.  Members of the Task Force, appointed by Governor Mike Beebe, have been working hard to help provide a brighter future for returning veterans.

Governor Beebe’s office has worked with Congressman John Boozman’s office in developing the Arkansas Yellow Ribbon Task Force to coordinate services and outreach groups to assist Arkansas military personnel.  Representatives from Arkansas state agencies and higher-education institutions are also working with the task force.

The members of the Arkansas Yellow Ribbon Task Force are, in addition to Susan Tonyman and Chancellor Robert Potts  from ASU: Judge and former state senator David Bisbee, Robert Burns, Rep. David Cook, Rep. Bobby Pierce and Rep. Randy Stewart; G. David Gearhart, ex-officio and Dr. Josette Cline, ex-officio, from University of Arkansas Fayetteville; Major General Don Morrow executive director of the Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve; Dr. Becky Paneitz, of Northwest Arkansas Community College, ex-officio; Col. Winford Phillips, ex-officio; Dr. Jim Purcell, Executive Director of the Arkansas Department of Higher Education, ex-officio; Cheryl Rawls director of Veterans Administration Regional Office;  Andrea Rockefeller-Hobbs with Operation Homefront, John Selig, ex-officio; Mac Dodson, ex-officio; Paige Smith of Fort Smith Family Readiness Group; Chris Sultemeier of Wal-Mart Corporate Offices;  Artee Williams, ex-officio; and Michael Winn, chief executive officer of  the Central Arkansas Veterans Health System; Dr. Paul Halverson, ex-officio, Director of the Arkansas Department of Health; Janet Huckabee, former First Lady and program manager with the American Red Cross; Dr. Kenneth James, ex-officio, Arkansas Commissioner of Education; Mr. Theotis King McAlmont, Church of Christ, veteran; Dr. Joann Kirchner, University of Arkansas Medical Sciences Psychiatric Institute and Col. Nathaniel McGee.



  NewsPage:  |  Back to TOP  |