Arkansas State University


Markham Howe
Sara McNeil
Gina Bowman

(870) 972-3056
fax (870) 972-3693

More information:

Links to News Releases
& Announcements

Campus Calendar
Public activities at ASU

About ASU
Overview, history
and more

Student honors nominees for Wilson Award, Distinguished Service Awards, now being accepted

Jan. 14, 2010 -- Applications are now being accepted for the 2010 R. E. Lee Wilson Citizenship Award and Distinguished Service Awards at Arkansas State University. The awards are ASU's highest student honors, with the presentation ceremony taking place during Convocation of Scholars week in April. Any graduating ASU senior this academic year (August 2009, December 2009, or May 2010) is eligible to apply. Application deadline is noon on Friday, Feb. 12.

The Wilson Award is presented annually to the university's outstanding graduating senior at the Student Honors ceremony. This year's ceremony will be held on Monday, April 12. The recipient is selected on the basis of character, determination, involvement, and academic achievement. The honor is conferred in memory of R. E. Lee Wilson, a member of the Arkansas State University Board of Trustees from 1917 until his death in 1933. Presentation of the Wilson Award began in 1934. A member of the Wilson family traditionally is present at the Student Honors event to bestow the award.

Because many students are noteworthy for their involvement and service, the university also presents several Distinguished Service Awards. The Wilson Award winner is chosen by the selection committee from those they have named Distinguished Service Award recipients. The selection committee consists of ASU faculty, staff members, students, and former Wilson Award winners.

Students may make a request of an ASU faculty member or organization adviser that the student be nominated and the student may complete the application form, but students must have a faculty member or organization advisor agree to be named as the nominator.
The committee considers participation and leadership in student organizations along with academic achievement when choosing the award recipients. Participation and leadership in organizations and activities of campus significance are considered more than those of a general nature.

Previous Wilson Award recipients have formed a Wilson Fellows Chapter of the ASU Alumni Association, and created a scholarship program for future recipients. The Wilson Award winner will receive a scholarship from the chapter to be used for post-graduate education.

Information and nomination forms may be obtained in the offices of ASU college deans, the Cooper Alumni Center, and the Leadership Center in the Student Union. Nomination forms are also available online at

Completed packets should be mailed to Student Honors Awards, c/o Dr. Nancy Hendricks, Cooper Alumni Center, P.O. Box 1990, State University AR 72467. For those wishing to drop off their applications in person, the Cooper Alumni Center is located just north of the ASU Convocation Center, with office hours from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.  Application deadline is noon on Friday, Feb. 12, with no exceptions; incomplete or late packets will not be considered.

For more information, Frequently-Asked-Questions, and a Nomination Form, please visit

# # #

  NewsPage:  |  Back to TOP  |