Arkansas State University


Markham Howe
Sara McNeil
Gina Bowman

(870) 972-3056
fax (870) 972-3693

More information:

Links to News Releases
& Announcements

Campus Calendar
Public activities at ASU

About ASU
Overview, history
and more

Wilson Award and Distinguished Service Award nominees now being accepted

Feb. 10, 2009 -- Applications are now being accepted for the 2009 R. E. Lee Wilson Citizenship Award and Distinguished Service Awards at Arkansas State University.The R. E. Lee Wilson Award is the highest student honor Arkansas State University bestows. The awards are ASU's highest student honors, with the presentation ceremony taking place during Convocation of Scholars week in April. Application deadline is Friday, Feb. 20, at 5 p.m.

Any graduating ASU senior this academic year (August 2008, December 2008, or May 2009) is eligible to apply. The Wilson Award is presented annually to the university's outstanding graduating senior at the Student Honors ceremony. This year's ceremony will be held on Monday, April 13. The recipient is selected on the basis of character, determination, involvement, and academic achievement. The honor is conferred in memory of R. E. Lee Wilson, a member of the Arkansas State University Board of Trustees from 1917 until his death in 1933. Traditionally, a member of the Wilson family is present at the Student Honors event to bestow the award.

Presentation of the Wilson Award began in 1934. Until 1980, the honor was presented to each year's outstanding male and female graduating senior. Beginning in 1981, the university began presenting the award to only one student each year.

Because so many students are noteworthy for their involvement and service, the university now also presents several Distinguished Service Awards. The Wilson Award winner is selected from the Distinguished Service Award recipients. The selection committee consists of three ASU faculty, three ASU staff members, three ASU students, and three former Wilson Award winners.

The committee considers participation and leadership in student organizations and their balance with scholastic achievement when choosing the recipient of the awards. Participation and leadership in organizations and activities of campus significance are considered more than those of a general nature.

Previous Wilson Award recipients have formed a Wilson Fellows Chapter of the ASU Alumni Association and have created a scholarship program for future recipients. The Wilson Award winner will receive a scholarship from the chapter to be used for post-graduate education.

Nomination forms are available online at ASU's Convocation of Scholars Web site at Information and nomination forms may also be obtained in the offices of all ASU college deans, the office of the vice chancellor for Student Affairs in the ASU Administration Building, the office of the vice president for University Advancement in the Cooper Alumni Center, and the Leadership Center in the Student Union.

Completed packets should be mailed to Distinguished Service Awards, Cooper Alumni Center, P.O. Box 1990, State University, AR  72467. For those wishing to drop off their applications in person, the Cooper Alumni Center is located just north of the ASU Convocation Center, with office hours from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.  Incomplete or late packets will not be considered.

For more information, frequently asked questions, and a nomination form, please visit  



  NewsPage:  |  Back to TOP  |