Contact us:

Links to more information:

Links to News Releases
& Announcements

Upcoming Events
Public activities at ASU

Campus News
Faculty and Staff

About ASU
Overview, history
and more

ASU Home Page


Arkansas State University

Jonesboro, Arkansas

Tom Moore
Frances Hart
Virginia Adams

fax 870-972-3069


Winter Choir Concert to be March 8
in Fowler Center by University Singers

Feb. 23, 2005--The Department of Music at Arkansas State University in Jonesboro will present the Winter Choir Concert by the University Singers-Men’s and Women’s Choirs on Tuesday March 8, at 7:30 p.m. in the Fowler Center, Riceland Hall, 201 Olympic Dr.

The University Singers are under the direction of Dr. Dale Miller, conductor, with Sherry Fagan and Carolyn Smith as graduate conducting assistants. The concert is free and open to the public.

The Women’s Choir will open the program with selections from the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries by Johannes Brahms, Eugene Butler, David L. Brunner, Eleanor Daley, Imant Raminsh, and Rene’ Clausen. The women will be accompanied by junior music major, Priscilla Noyes. The women will perform in English, Hebrew, Spanish, and Latin.

The Men’s Choir will take the stage to perform works by Felix Mendelssohn, Moses Hogan, Richard Burchard, as well three barbershop tunes arranged by Rick Spencer, David Wright, and Mary K. Coffman. The men will be accompanied by senior music major, Tara Skinner. The concert will conclude a spiritual arrangement by the combined University Singers, “Lord, If I Got My Ticket,” arranged by Stacey Gibbs.

Members of the University Singers include Cassie Black of Searcy, Sherry Fagan of Tampa, Fla., Kristina Kellems of Jonesboro, Lilly Miller of Mayflower, Krystal Story of Camden, and Jamie Thompson of Rison, first sopranos; Heather Chance of Harrisburg, Stacy Dortch of Paragould, Brioney Hellums of Mount Pleasant, Amy Isbell of Jonesboro, Priscilla Noyes of Dexter, Mo., Match Shiono of Nara, Japan, Tara Skinner of Daytona Beach, Fla., and Crystal Stormes of Goobertown, second sopranos.

Other members include: Ashley Armstrong of Highland, Carly Gorman of Little Rock,  Tiffanie Holland of Bryant, Brittany Howard of Paragould, Mary Hannah Johnson, Cindy Sterling, and Crystal Trujillo, all of Jonesboro, Keri Todd of Marion, and Renee Zimmerman of Paragould, first altos; Jennifer Bowles of Morrilton, Erica Carter of Marion, Christy Fudge of Newark, Megan Mitchell of Jonesboro, Carol Ann Segraves of Walnut Ridge, and Carolyn Smith of Huntsville, Ala., second altos.

Other members are: Ray Calaway of Jonesboro, Joshua Dennis of Springfield, Mo., Derrick Moore of Forrest City, Adam Sherwood of Searcy, Rusty Shields of Osceola, and Bill Weaver of Little Rock, first tenors; Clinton Costello of Jonesboro, Justin Dugger of Batesville, Perry Harper of Paragould, Chris Mitchell of Trumann, Matt Vardell and Charles Winfield, both of Jonesboro, second tenors. 

Other members are: John Easley of Bald Knob, Andrew Kjorlaug and Jon Schug, both of Paragould, Patrick Manes of Bryant, Skyler Mays of Highland, Derrick Palmer of Brinkley, Jon Stevenson of North Little Rock, and Keith Westbrook of Benton, baritones; Michael Crutchfield of Paragould, Michael Davis of Jonesboro, Edmond Hampton of Fort Smith, Thomas Head of Little Rock, Lance Lewallen of Whitehall, Eric Rivera of Hoxie, and Josh Wilcoxson of Kennett, Mo., basses.

A silent auction will be held before the concert in the Grand Hall of the Fowler Center with the proceeds benefiting the Men’s Choir spring tour to be held in May. The men will also perform in several schools and churches in Northeast Arkansas and Southern Missouri.

For more details, please call the Department of Music at 870-972-2094.


NewsPage:  |  Back to TOP  |