Arkansas State University


Markham Howe
Sara McNeil
Gina Bowman

(870) 972-3056
fax (870) 972-3069

More information:

Links to News Releases
& Announcements

Campus Calendar
Public activities at ASU

Campus News
Faculty and Staff

About ASU
Overview, history
and more

Department of Music presents University Singers Choir in concert Nov. 2

Oct. 22, 2008 -- Please note that this concert is at 3 p.m. in Riceland Hall, Fowler Center. The Department of Music at Arkansas State University in Jonesboro will present the ASU University Singers in concert on November 2 at 3 p.m. in Riceland Hall, Fowler Center, 201 Olympic Drive, Jonesboro. The University Singers ensemble is composed of two choirs—Men’s Choir and Women’s Choir--and are under the direction of Dr. Dale Miller, director of choral activities. Graduate conducting assistant Janet Tullos will also be conducting one selection with each choir.

The first group of the evening to perform will be the Women’s Choir, accompanied by Brian Henkelmann, music associate at First United Methodist Church of Jonesboro, on the piano and organ.  The women will be performing seven songs. Selections for the performance are “Ecce Maria” by Michael Praetorius; “Dixit” by Johann Michael Haydn; “Veni, Domine” by Felix Mendelssohn; “Alleluia” by Emma Lou Diemer, conducted by Ms. Tullos; “Magnificat” by Z. Randall Stroope, featuring Mr. Henkelmann and ASU adjunct faculty member Luca Strazzullo, pianists; “Let it Shine” by Kari Ala-Pollanen; and “Holy is the Lord” by Jeffery L. Ames. Soloists for the performance will include freshmen Hannah McQuay, and Elizabeth Rountree, sophomore Kari Rickman, transfer students Kayla DuVall, Becky Morrison, and Erica Tadlock, and seniors Tiffanie Manes and Jeanie Clements.

Following the Women’s Choir, the Men’s Choir, accompanied by senior vocal performance major Willie Sullivan, will perform four sacred selections, which include “Exsultate Justi” by L. Viadana; “Adoramus te Christe” by Giovanni Pierluigi Palestrina, conducted by Ms. Tullos; “Praise to the Lord” by Barry Talley, featuring freshman piano student Barrett Kelley; and “O Come, Let Us Sing unto the Lord” by Emma Lou Diemer. Their final two numbers will be “Glee,” a novelty number by Eric Lane Barnes, and the barbershop standard, “Thank You, Dear Lord, for Music,” by Mary K. Coffman.

Following the men’s performance, the choirs will present a joint performance of “We Are One Voice” by Kevin and Celeste Johnson, arranged by Paul E. Oakley, director of choirs at Catawba College in Salisbury, North Carolina. Accompaniment for the combined number will be provided by Mr. Henkelmann, pianist, and ASU Jazz Band members Kevin Cremeens, bassist, and Aaron Fisher, drummer.

Personnel for the ASU Women’s Choir include first sopranos: Crystal Haralson of Paragould, Becky Morrison of Jonesboro, Kari Rickman of Bono, Erica Tadlock of Jonesboro, Janet Tullos of Cabot, and Amanda White of Hershey, Pa. Second sopranos are Dena Bell of Forrest City, Morgan Cox of Paragould, Lela Dudley of Blue Springs, Miss., Kayla DuVall of Hot Springs, Melissa Jackson of Pine Bluff, Hannah McQuay of Jonesboro, Karen Murray of Washington D.C., Tiffany Schmidt of Lakewood, Colo., and  Kayla Shown of Searcy.  Singing first alto are Lauren Bridges of Marmaduke, Jeanie Clements of Batesville, Jordan Farris of Jonesboro, Madison Kuebler of Searcy, Tiffanie Manes of Bryant, Sarah Moore of Dexter, Mo., Katherine Richards of Osceola, and Michelle Shotwell of Manila. Singing second alto will be Savanna Hailey of Paragould, Jordan McBride, Sloane Simmons and Jennifer Nix of Jonesboro, Elizabeth Rountree of Hot Springs, and Lorie Shavers of Pine Bluff.

Personnel for the ASU Men’s Choir include first tenors: Kyle Berry of Austin, Josh Dennis of Springfield, Mo., Wesley Hooper of Harrisburg, Galen Perkins of Bartlett, Tenn., Justin Stewart of Nashville, Tenn., Dustin Thomas of Manila, and John Yerger of Jonesboro. Second tenors are Sam Lee, Matt Vardell, and Craig McAlister of Jonesboro, Justin Register of Huntsville, Ala., Adam Rigney of Blytheville, and Nick Robbins of Manila. Baritones are Jerad Dugger of Pleasant Plains, Romero Harper of Wynne, Barrett Kelley of Walnut Ridge, Trevor Panhorst and Matt Morgan of Jonesboro, Mark Parsley of Malvern, Andrew Pigott of Orlando, Fla., and Kailon Ross of West Memphis. Singing bass are Jarvis Brodie and Jonathan Little of Jonesboro, Gabrien Brown of Newport, Blake Markham, Brian Miller, and Jonathan Trail of Paragould, Drew McCann of West Memphis, and Drew Warren of Manila.

The concert is free and open to the public. For more details, call the Department of Music at (870) 972-2094.

# # #

-- This and other releases are online at






  NewsPage:  |  Back to TOP  |