Arkansas State University


Tom Moore
Sara McNeil

(870) 972-3056
fax (870) 972-3069

More information:

Links to News Releases
& Announcements

Campus Calendar
Public activities at ASU

Campus News
Faculty and Staff

About ASU
Overview, history
and more

Department of Music presents
Tribe and Jazz Lab bands

Feb. 9, 2007--The Department of Music at ASU will present the ASU Tribe and the Jazz Lab Band on Monday, Feb. 26, 2007 at 7:30 in the Student Union Auditorium, under the direction of Mr. Ron Horton.

As is standard for the two jazz ensembles that will be featured in the evening’s concert, audiences will be treated to some of the most exciting pieces the genre of big band jazz has to offer. The band will perform “Shiny Stockings,” a classic piece from the Count Basie Orchestra. It will feature trumpeter Joseph Curtis and pianist Mauricio Dixon. The band will also perform a song by Don Menza called “Groovin’ Hard.” Big Band aficionados will recognize this piece from the library of legendary drummer Buddy Rich. Soloist Daniel Rickman will be featured on this song and drummer Jamel Alford will reprise the role of Buddy Rich. In addition to the classic repertoire pieces that the band will perform, concert goers will also be treated to the premier of an arrangement written specifically for the Tribe, “Beautiful Love.” The piece will feature trombonist Blake Howerton and feature the vocal stylings of Perry Harper. Concert goers will also be treated to pieces performed by the ASU Jazz Lab Band.

Members of the ASU Jazz Lab Band are Ashley Flory of Cherokee Village and David Martin of Batesville, alto saxophone; Katrinka Musumbi and Shirley Smith of Jonesboro, tenor saxophone; Adam Leslie of Jonesboro, baritone saxophone; Treavor Mitchell, Kade Holliday, and Jeremy Ramsey of Jonesboro, and Corey Spencer of Wynne, trombone; Will Hartzel of Forrest City, Antonio Starks of Jonesboro, Angela Guajardo of Marion, Sarah DeClerk of Pocahontas, and Peter Davis of Jonesboro, trumpet; Douglas Turner and Tonia Spurlock, bass, both of Highland; Janet Rooney of Trumann, drums; Jay Burns of Jonesboro, guitar; Alyssa Fenner of Jonesboro, vibraphone.

Members of the ASU Tribe are Claire Richardson of Jonesboro and Michael Newson of Memphis, Tenn., alto saxophone; Daniel Rickman and Allen Adcock of Jonesboro, tenor saxophone; Nichole Burdyshaw of Bono, baritone saxophone; Corey Emerson of Poplar Bluff, Mo., Blake Howerton of Paragould, Matt Strawbridge of Jonesboro, trombone; Jason Payne of Jonesboro, bass trombone; Luke Walker of Pocahontas, Kate Puckett of Jonesboro, Joseph Curtis of Trumann, Grant W. Harbison of Jonesboro, trumpet; Janet Rooney of Trumann, piano and vibes; Maricio Dixon of Wynne, piano; Kevin Cremeens of Jonesboro, bass; Perry Harper of Paragould, vocals and drums; Jamel Alford of East St. Louis, Ill., drums.

The concert is free and open to the public.
For more details, please call the Department of Music at (870) 972-2094.


# # #


NewsPage:  |  Back to TOP  |