Arkansas State University


Tom Moore
Sara McNeil

(870) 972-3056
fax (870) 972-3069

More information:

Links to News Releases
& Announcements

Campus Calendar
Public activities at ASU

Campus News
Faculty and Staff

About ASU
Overview, history
and more

Department of Music to Present Symphonic Winds and Concert Band

April 3, 2007 -- The Department of Music at Arkansas State University will present the ASU Symphonic Winds under the direction of Sherri Fincher, interim assistant director of bands, and the Concert Band under the direction of Cory Mikel, graduate conducting assistant, on Thursday, April 12, 7:30 p.m., in Riceland Hall, Fowler Center, 201 Olympic Drive, Jonesboro.

The Symphonic Winds' portion of the concert will include “Florentiner March” by Julius Fucik, edited by Frederick Fennell; “Psalm 42,” arranged by Samuel Hazo; “Chorale and Shaker Dance” by John Zdechlik; and “Persistence,” by Richard L. Saucedo.

Members of the Symphonic Winds include: Sunny McCarty of Hardy, Matt Allen of Magnolia, A.J. Wetton of Van Buren, Mo., Lauren Howard of Sherwood, Ashley Kriby of Cherokee Village, Rachel Smith of Benton, Misty Prater of West Memphis, Luke Walker of Pocahontas, Shayeeda Beard of Cherokee Village, Joseph Curtis of Trumann, Mylie Brown of Walnut Ridge, Josh Gardner of Paragould, Elizabeth Biggs of Jonesboro, Ben Light of Bald Knob, Mary Laird of Newport, Jon Stevenson of North Little Rock, Rachel Sheppard of Jonesboro, Angela Guarjardo of Marion, Tony Saylors of Pocahontas, Nicole Nebeker of Trumann, Regina Alexander of Osecola, Kade Holliday of Jonesboro, Kristina Brewer of Pocahontas, Seth Weston of Jonesboro, Jeremy Ramsey of Brinkley, Matt Strawbridge of Jonesboro, Terana Griffin of Paragould, Daniel Harrelson of Warren, Whitney Holley of Casper, Wyo., David Barrentine of Jonesboro, Jennifer Hall of Jonesboro, Amy Penny of Jonesboro, Alyssa Johnson of Bryant, Lonnie Simmons of Jonesboro, Jay Burns of Malvern, Patrick Manes of Bryant, Andrea Caldwell of Brookland, Ashley Flory of Cherokee Village, Katey Cravens of Jonesboro, T.J. Burns of Newport, Jason Holder of Newport, Michael Newson of Memphis, Tenn., Cheyenne Sheppard of Jonesboro, Gabrien Brown of Newport, Chris Knight of Sherwood, Katrinka Masumbi of Jonesboro, Ben Light of Bald Knob, Kevin Ledford of Bald Knob, Mylie Brown of Walnut Ridge, and Tonia Spurlock of Ash Flat

The Concert Band's portion of the concert will include “American Riversongs” by Pierre LaPlante, “Spring River Holiday” by Tom O’Connor, “On a Hymnsong of Philip Bliss” by David Holsinger, and “The Spirit of Orpheus” by Robert W. Smith.

Members of the Concert Band include: Danielle Weckmann of Jonesboro, Caitlin Sammons of Bald Knob, Sunny McCarty of Hardy, Justin Crabb of Paragould, Cassidy Hopkins of Marked Tree, Tony Saylors of Jonesboro, Sheena Gibson of Piggott, Nicole Nebeker of Trumann, Kathy Parsons of Marion, Colbie Washington of Newport, Barry Goode of Jonesboro, Dave Martin of Batesville, Shirley Smith of West Memphis, Kendra Sauheaver of North Little Rock, Lance McGriff of Malvern, Daniel Harrelson of Warren, Sarah DeClerk of Pocahontas, Douglas Turner of Highland, Bradley Bowman of Blytheville, Ben Light of Bald Knob, Will Hartzel of Forrest City, John Buck of North Little Rock,  Tyrone Cobb of Dumas, Cory Vaughn of Hardy, Derrick Palmer of Brinkley, Perry Harper of Paragould, Matt Boston of West Memphis, Alex Becerra of El Dorado, Keisha Gray of West Memphis, Antonio Starks of Jonesboro, Vowell Crawford of Bono, Alix Meacham of Highland, Matt Jones of Bono, John Hogkins of Paragould, Alex Poyner of Jonesboro, Alysa Fenner of Jonesboro, Eric Palmer of Bald Knob, Chance Caleb of Jonesboro, and Braxton Washington of Parkview.

The concert is free and open to the public. For more details, please call the Department of Music at (870) 972-2094.


# # #


NewsPage:  |  Back to TOP  |