Arkansas State University


Markham Howe
Sara McNeil
Gina Bowman

(870) 972-3056
fax (870) 972-3693

More information:

Links to News Releases
& Announcements

Campus Calendar
Public activities at ASU

About ASU
Overview, history
and more

ASU's Student Honors Awards ceremony slated for April 13

April 9, 2009 -- Arkansas State University-Jonesboro announces the 2009 Student Honors Awards ceremony, which will be held in ASU's Reng Student Services Center/Student Union Auditorium, 101 North Caraway Road, Monday, April 13, from
3-5 p.m.

At that time, the outstanding students from the 2008-09 academic year will be announced. These include the 4.0 Scholars, Chancellor's Scholars, Distinguished Service Award recipients, and finally the Wilson Award winner.

Distinguished Service Awards are presented annually to graduating seniors who, through their service to the student body and to ASU, have demonstrated outstanding qualities of leadership and citizenship. Nominations for these prestigious awards are sought from faculty, advisers to student organizations, and other members of the ASU community. A committee comprised of students, faculty, staff, and alumni make the final selections, which are confidential until the presentation. Seven students will receive the award this year.

One of the Distinguished Service Award winners will become the 123rd recipient of the Wilson Award, ASU's highest student honor. The Wilson Award is given to honor the memory of R. E. Lee Wilson of Wilson, Arkansas, who was a member of our Board of Trustees from 1917 until his death in 1933. Mr. Wilson believed strongly in higher education and was instrumental in the growth and development of Arkansas State University. His great-great-grandson, attorney Perry Wilson of Little Rock, will present the Wilson Award this year.

Other presenters will include ASU administrators as well as Gary Pugh of Pocahontas, who graduated in 1968 and will represent more than 61, 000 ASU alumni. A photo opportunity and a reception will follow the ceremony.

For more information, contact Dr. Nancy Hendricks, director of Alumni Communications, at (870) 972-2451.



  NewsPage:  |  Back to TOP  |