Arkansas State University


Markham Howe
Sara McNeil
Gina Bowman

(870) 972-3056
fax (870) 972-3693

More information:

Links to News Releases
& Announcements

KASU Public Newsroom
KASU Local News

Campus Calendar
Public activities at ASU

About ASU
Overview, history
and more

Presidential Search Advisory Committee to begin listening sessions with constituents

August 11, 2010 -- The Presidential Search Advisory Committee will meet with several constituent groups over the next two weeks to conduct public “listening sessions” about the characteristics and qualifications desired in a new president for the ASU System.

Florine Tousant Milligan of Forrest City, who is chair of the ASU Board of Trustees and also is serving as chair of the Search Advisory Committee, plans to attend all of the listening sessions.  Various committee members will accompany her at each session.

The Search Advisory Committee agreed at its last meeting, on Aug. 6, to conduct public listening sessions in August with key constituencies at several locations, including the Beebe, Mountain Home, Newport and Jonesboro campuses of ASU and in Little Rock.  Faculty, staff, students and community members are invited to make comments during these sessions.

The scheduled sessions are:

--Jonesboro community leaders, Wednesday, Aug. 11, 5 p.m., ASU System Office, 2004 E. Nettleton Ave., Jonesboro.

--ASU-Beebe (including Searcy, Heber Springs and LRAFB), faculty, staff and students, Tuesday, Aug. 17, 10 a.m., University Café, Student Center.

--Beebe community leaders, Tuesday, Aug. 17, 11 a.m., University Café, Student Center.

--Little Rock community leaders, Tuesday, Aug. 17, 5 p.m., ASU Little Rock Office, 2222 Cottondale Lane, Suite 230.

--Newport community leaders, Wednesday, Aug. 18, 10 a.m., Student Community Center, ASU-Newport.

--ASU-Newport (including Marked Tree and Jonesboro technical centers), faculty, staff and students, Wednesday, Aug. 18, 11 a.m., Student Community Center, ASU-Newport.

--Mountain Home community leaders, Thursday, Aug. 19, 11 a.m., McMullen Lecture Hall, Dryer Hall.

--ASU-Mountain Home, faculty, staff and students, Thursday, Aug. 19, 1 p.m., McMullen Lecture Hall, Dryer Hall.

--ASU-Jonesboro faculty, Monday, Aug. 23, 3 p.m., Student Union Auditorium.

--ASU-Jonesboro staff, Monday, Aug. 23, 4 p.m., Student Union Auditorium.

--ASU-Jonesboro students, Monday, Aug. 23, 5 p.m., Student Union Auditorium.

Members of the Search Advisory Committee are: Dr. Pat Bailey, provost and vice chancellor for Academic Affairs, ASU-Mountain Home; Dr. Dan Howard, interim chancellor, ASU-Jonesboro; Dr. JW Mason, associate vice chancellor for administrative services, ASU-Jonesboro and ASU System; Ms. Beverly McCollum, chair-elect, Jonesboro Regional Chamber of Commerce; Dr. Eugene McKay, chancellor, ASU-Beebe; Mayor Harold Perrin, trustee emeritus; Mr. Randall Pope, board chair, Arkansas State University Foundation; Dr. Robert L. Potts, interim president, ASU System; Dr. Mary Robertson, vice chancellor for student affairs, ASU-Newport; Mr. Paul Rowton, president, Arkansas State University Alumni Association.

The Board of Trustees could select the new president as early as mid-November, and the selected individual could begin work as early as Jan. 1, 2011.  Mrs. Milligan emphasized during the meeting on Aug. 6 that the timeline for the selection could be extended if needed to secure the best possible person for the job.

Dr. Robert L. Potts, who came to ASU-Jonesboro as chancellor in November 2006, began serving as interim president of the ASU System on July 1. Dr. Les Wyatt resigned as president to return to the faculty effective June 30 following 15 years of service.

The Board of Trustees established the 11-member Search Advisory Committee and agreed to hire Dr. Tom Meredith of Effective Leadership LLC as a consultant at its meeting on July 30.

                                                       # # #

  NewsPage:  |  Back to TOP  |