Arkansas State University


Markham Howe
Sara McNeil
Gina Bowman

(870) 972-3056
fax (870) 972-3069

More information:

Links to News Releases
& Announcements

Campus Calendar
Public activities at ASU

Campus News
Faculty and Staff

About ASU
Overview, history
and more

Arkansas Small Business Development Center implements name change

Oct. 28, 2008 -- The Arkansas Small Business Development Center, the state’s largest and most comprehensive business assistance program, has a new name—Arkansas Small Business and Technology Development Center (ASBTDC). The change was announced at a press conference Tuesday, Oct. 28, in the rotunda of the Fowler Center on the Arkansas State University campus.

ASU vice chancellor for Academic Affairs and Research Dr. G. Daniel Howard, College of Business dean Dr. Len Frey, executive director of the ASU Delta Center for Economic Development Alan McVey, ASU SBTDC director Herb Lawrence and other ASBTDC officials were on hand for the announcement.

“Changing our name illustrates an extension of our mission to serve Arkansas’ entrepreneurial community,” said Janet Roderick, ASBTDC state director. “We began a decade ago to develop services for innovation and technology-based businesses when it became apparent that a key to economic growth in Arkansas would be our own innovation. Arkansas must be on the leading edge of technology to compete with other states and internationally in this economy.”

The name change underscores the program’s commitment to helping Arkansas science and technology entrepreneurs pursue new ideas and to helping all types of small businesses apply technology.

The center earned special technology accreditation from the National Association of Small Business Development Centers late last year. Of 63 SBDCs across the country, Arkansas was just the fifth to receive the technology designation. ASBDC had to demonstrate the ability to assist clients in areas such as technology transfer, commercialization, research and development funding, intellectual property, and equity financing.

Arkansas Small Business Development Center assists innovation-based businesses through its network of offices across the state. Established in 1980, the program is a partnership of the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) and the University of Arkansas at Little Rock College of Business.

In addition to the lead center at UALR and office at ASU, other regional offices are located at Henderson State University, Southern Arkansas University, University of Arkansas-Fayetteville, University of Arkansas-Fort Smith and University of Arkansas-Monticello College of Technology in McGehee. All services, which include consulting, research, and training, are available at low or no cost through the center’s partnership with the Small Business Administration and higher education institutions across Arkansas.

About the SBDC Network

Uniting private enterprise, government, higher education and local non-profit economic development organizations, the Small Business Development Center national network is the SBA’s largest partnership program, providing management and technical assistance to help Americans start, run, and grow their own businesses. With approximately 1,000 offices across the nation, the SBDC network assists approximately 725,000 small businesses every year.

For additional information, contact Herb Lawrence,, (870) 972-3517 or Gwen Green,, (501) 683-7700.           



  NewsPage:  |  Back to TOP  |