Arkansas State University


Markham Howe
Sara McNeil
Gina Bowman

(870) 972-3056
fax (870) 972-3069

More information:

Links to News Releases
& Announcements

Campus Calendar
Public activities at ASU

Campus News
Faculty and Staff

About ASU
Overview, history
and more

Dr. Pratte selected as SENCER Leadership Fellow

July 18, 2008 -- Dr. John M. Pratte, chair of the chemistry and physics department at ArkDr. John M. Pratteansas State University, has been elected a 2008-09 SENCER Leadership Fellow by the National Fellowship Board of the National Center for Science and Civic Engagement.  Pratte is also a professor of physics at ASU.

Pratte is one of 76 Fellows chosen from among the 1,300 eligible faculty members and academic leaders who were nominated. Fellowships honor educators for their exemplary leadership and commitment to the improvement of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics education and provide opportunities for honorees to continue their efforts. 
SENCER Leadership Fellows are elected to 18-month terms, following nomination and application review. 

“I am delighted
to be named as a SENCER Leadership Fellow,” said Dr. Pratte. “The organization does wonderful things including integrating community involvement in course study for students. It fosters the creation of programs to show students the benefit of what to do for the community.”

SENCER (Science Education for New Civic Engagements and Responsibilities) is the signature program of the National Center for Science and Civic Engagement, a research center affiliated with Harrisburg University of Science and Technology. A faculty development and science education reform initiative supported by the National Science Foundation, SENCER stimulates student engagement in science and mathematics through courses and programs focused on real world problems.  This method extends the impact of student learning across the curriculum to the broader community and society. 

“We are very pleased to see that a member of our faculty has been selected as a SENCER Leadership Fellow and we congratulate Dr. Pratte,” said ASU chancellor Dr. Robert Potts. “The accomplishments by Dr. Pratte and the Chemistry and Physics Department at Arkansas State University coalesce with the mission of the university of fostering intellectual growth of students through exposure to first-class science education and work with the community. Dr. Pratte’s commitment to a robust STEM curriculum and collaboration with other faculty certainly merits this professional recognition.”

David Ferguson, distinguished service professor at Stony Brook University and National Fellowship Board chair said, “Professor Pratte is an innovative, imaginative and successful leader in STEM education who began his involvement with SENCER in our first year, 2001, while he was a professor at Kennesaw State. Our association and collaboration with a colleague there led to the development of a set of innovative laboratory exercises and activities that earned National Science Foundation developmental and dissemination support.  Recently, as chair of ASU’s physics department, John has re-established his connection with SENCER. 

“As a SENCER leadership Fellow, John will work to expand the scope of SENCER course offerings at ASU, provide consultations to other faculty within the region, and focus his attention on assessment activities, with the university and as part of a national consortium supported by SENCER.”

“We in the National Fellowship Board and the National Center have the highest hopes and expectations for the success of John’s efforts and look forward to having the benefit of his advice and counsel as we plan for the future,” said David Burns, the executive director of the National Center for Science and Civic Engagement.



  NewsPage:  |  Back to TOP  |