Arkansas State University


Tom Moore
Sara McNeil

(870) 972-3056
fax (870) 972-3069

More information:

Links to News Releases
& Announcements

Campus Calendar
Public activities at ASU

Campus News
Faculty and Staff

About ASU
Overview, history
and more

Department of Music to present final
installment in Faculty Recital Series

March 14, 2007 --The Department of Music at Arkansas State University in Jonesboro will present the final concert in the 2006-2007 Faculty Recital Series featuring Neale Bartee, Arlene Biebesheimer, Dale Clark, Lauren Schack Clark, Robin Dauer, Sherri Fincher, Ken Hatch, Richard Jorgensen, and Ed Owen on Thursday, March 29, at 7:30 in the Fowler Center, Riceland Hall, 201 Olympic Dr.  Admission is free.

The concert will feature performances of "Sonatina for Clarinet and Piano" by Joseph Horovitz performed by Ken Hatch and Lauren Schack Clark, "Cornography" by Victoria Bond performed by Arlene Biebesheimer, Robin Dauer, and Dale Clark, and "Quartet" by Arthur Frackenpohl, "Fanfare" by Vernon Taranto, "Five Renaissance Dances" by Brian Joyce, and "Scat!" by ASU student composer Randall Standridge performed by members of the ASU Brass Quintet.

Dr. Neale Bartee is professor of music at ASU, where he teaches trombone and conducts the ASU Concert Orchestra.  He joined the faculty in 1973 and is a charter member of the ASU Brass Quintet.  In addition, he is music director of the Delta Symphony Orchestra which is located in Jonesboro and serves the Northeast Arkansas region. He also toured Russia in 2003 with a trombone ensemble from the International Trombone Association.  He is Past President of the Arkansas Music Educators Association and continues to be active in music education projects in the state.

Dale Clark is adjunct professor of bassoon at ASU.  Formerly a Boston Lyric Opera bassoonist, he has recently performed with Orquesta Sinfonica in Monterrey, Mexico and was a guest artist in 2004 at Berklee College of Music in Boston and the University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music.  His articles have been published in the Double Reed and his compositions, lectures and performances have been presented at conferences of the International Double Reed Society.  He earned his bachelor’s degree in music education from the University of Tennessee-Knoxville, master of music from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, and doctor of musical arts from Boston University.   Dr. Clark is a former faculty member of Boston Conservatory, Atlantic Union College, and the University of Memphis.  His teachers include Gary Echols, Keith McClelland, and Dr. Matthew Ruggiero.

Lauren Schack Clark is assistant professor of piano and keyboard activities supervisor at ASU. She performs frequently as a soloist and collaborative artist. She holds a doctor of musical arts degree from Boston University, a master’s in Piano Performance and Pedagogy from Northwestern University, a Graduate Diploma from the Longy School of Music in Cambridge, Massachusetts, and a bachelor of music Degree from Hartt School of Music.

Robin Dauer is associate professor of horn at ASU. He received his B.A. degree from Miami University and his M.M. and D.M.A. degrees from the Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music. His is currently a member of the A.S.U. Brass Quintet and the Arkansas Symphony Orchestra. Dr. Dauer’s recordings include Horn Americana, works for horn and piano by American composers, and Souvenir, French pieces for horn and piano, both available from Mark Recordings. At Arkansas State, he conducts the horn ensemble, student chamber ensembles, and teaches music appreciation.

Ken Hatch, assistant professor of music, has taught clarinet and saxophone at ASU since 1983.  In addition to studio teaching, he coaches chamber music, teaches instrumental technique classes for music education majors, and conducting. He presently performs as clarinetist and saxophonist with the Arkansas Symphony Orchestra in Little Rock.

Sherri Fincher is interim assistant director of bands at ASU.   She received her bachelor of science in education degree in 1998 from ASU and spent four years teaching in the public school system in Southeast Missouri before returning to ASU to complete her master of music degree in 2004.  Ms. Fincher is currently working toward a doctorate degree in music performance from the University of Mississippi.  Ms. Fincher is principal trumpet of the Delta Symphony Orchestra and has played second trumpet with the Pine Bluff Symphony since 1996.  She also plays frequently with the Arkansas Symphony in Little Rock as a substitute and extra.

Ed Owen is assistant professor of music at ASU where he serves as coordinator of graduate studies, teaches applied tuba and euphonium, and conducts the ASU Tuba and Euphonium Ensemble and Brass Choir. He also performs as principal tuba of the Arkansas Symphony Orchestra and Brass Quintet, the Delta Symphony Orchestra, and the ASU Brass Quintet.  He received the bachelor of arts in music Education degree from Arkansas Tech University (summa cum laude), and the master of music in tuba performance and doctor of musical arts in performance and literature from the University of Illinois in Urbana-Champaign.

Richard Jorgensen is a charter member of the ASU Brass Quintet and is professor of trumpet at ASU. He has performed as principal trumpet with the Arkansas Symphony since 1976 and has been featured as soloist with that group.  As a charter member of the International Trumpet Guild, he has performed at several international conferences.   He has presented lectures and masterclasses in many schools in Kentucky, Texas, and Louisiana and has also served as a judge at the National Trumpet Competition.  In the summer, Mr. Jorgensen is the Concert Manager for the Interlochen Arts Festival in Michigan.

The audience is invited to visit the Bradbury Gallery during intermission.  The current exhibition is titled "new and used"and features artwork inspired by the common object.  Artists John Adelman, Virginia Fleck, Ian Lemmonds and Paul Villinski explore how the ordinary can be a stimulus for the creative mind.

For more details, please call the Department of Music at (870) 972-2094.

# # #


NewsPage:  |  Back to TOP  |