Arkansas State University


Markham Howe
Sara McNeil

(870) 972-3056
fax (870) 972-3069

More information:

Links to News Releases
& Announcements

Campus Calendar
Public activities at ASU

Campus News
Faculty and Staff

About ASU
Overview, history
and more

2008 Employee Distinguished Performance Awards ceremony to take place May 5

May 2, 2008 -- Arkansas State University in Jonesboro will hold its 15th annual service recognition and distinguished performance awards program Monday, May 5, for classified and non-classified personnel. The ceremony will be held at 2 p.m. in the Student Union Auditorium, and will be followed by a reception in the Heritage Lounge.

This program was initiated in 1994 to recognize outstanding job performance and long-time service by the university’s non-faculty employees.

Seven employees will receive Distinguished Performance Awards in their respective employment categories. The employees, their departments, and their employment categories were:
Clay Hurn, Facilities Management, Central Receiving, clerical/secretarial; Dr. Glen Jones, Academic Affairs and Research, Office of the Vice Chancellor, executive managerial/administrator; David Handwork, Facilities Management, Engineering Services, non-faculty professional; Hester Hall, Facilities Management, custodial services, service/maintenance; Randy Ryan, Residence Life, skilled trades; Kimberley Marshall, Department of Biological Sciences, technical/paraprofessional; and Sarah Cash, Student Union, customer service. The Customer Service Award is determined based upon nominations by ASU students. Each winner of the Distinguished Performance Award will receive a plaque and a savings bond.

Fourteen retirees (retirement dates May 2, 2007-April 30, 2008) will be honored. Those individuals are: Sandy Benesh, University Advancement; Kenneth Burrow, Facilities Management;
Dorothy Brown, Student Union; Sue Carver, College of Business; Martha Flugstad, Information Technology Services; Ann Ford, Facilities Management; Barbara Harrell, Library; Linda Hester, Facilities Management; Dr. Rafik Jacob, Counseling Center; Julie Linnstaedter, Research and Technology Transfer; James McCoy, University Police; J.D. Melson, Facilities Management; Dr. Herman Strickland, University College; Kathlyn Yarbrough, College of Business.

Seven employees were cited for 30 years of service, and they are: Carol Barnhill, Procurement Services; Phareta Calkin, Printing Services; Sharon Griffin, Library; Lola Langley, Procurement Services; Dr. Jenifer Rice-Mason, Disability Services; Renee O'Connor, Fine Arts Dean's Office; and Lanny Tinker, Facilities Management.

Three employees were recognized for 25 years of service. They are Shelia Hill, Dr. Kathryn Jones, and Peggy Hunt.

Employees recognized for 20 years of service include: Dr. Mary Jane Bradley, Bettye McKinney, Sandra Bramblett, Richard Neeley, Peggy Britt, Ed Rayburn, Mark Clark, Steve Riga, Jane Ann Craft, Teresa Ryan, Carolyn Douglas, Rusty Stroud, Elizabeth Flanagan, Elizabeth Veara, Pat Glascock, Kathy Ward, Judy McCay, and Marilyn Wilhide.

Employees recognized for 10 years of service include: David Atherton, Andrea Massie, Richard Bergener, Kathy Mathes, Bill Brown, Michelle Morgan, Sandra Clements, Barbara Pearson, Shane Copeland, Terry Phipps, Jimmy Crocker, Ed Ponder, Patrick Dixon, Sandra Prine, Beverly Edens, Lori Roach, Danna Evans, Jackie Rorex, Frederick Tracy Farmer, Jill Simons, Dr. Robert Franklin, Randall Tate, Tami Freeman, Gregory Thornburg, Brenda Hawkins, Vicki Walker, Craig Johnson, Sandra Whitmire, Mark A. Loveland, and Samantha Young.





  NewsPage:  |  Back to TOP  |