Arkansas State University


Markham Howe
Sara McNeil

(870) 972-3056
fax (870) 972-3069

More information:

Links to News Releases
& Announcements

Campus Calendar
Public activities at ASU

Campus News
Faculty and Staff

About ASU
Overview, history
and more

Department of Music presents ASU Wind Ensemble in concert April 24

April 8, 2008 -- The Arkansas State University Wind Ensemble will give its sixth and final concert of the 2007-2008 season on Thursday, April 24, in Riceland Hall, Fowler Center, 201 Olympic Drive, Jonesboro. The concert will begin at 7:30 p.m.; admission is free. The Wind Ensemble is conducted by Dr. Timothy Oliver, director of bands and coordinator of wind and percussion studies within the Department of Music. 

Dr. Oliver will lead the musicians of the ASU Wind Ensemble in a concert titled, “Dances du Jour,” so named because each of the pieces represents a different type or expression of dance music. 

The concert will begin with “New World Dances,” composed by Martin Ellerby. This work is cast in three short movements and endeavors to recreate the pioneering spirit of the journey across America. The three dance episodes that make up the suite are symbolic of pushing out the frontiers, contemplating huge distances to be crossed, and the realization of the American dream. 

John Barnes Chance composed the second piece, “Incantation and Dance.” This work consists of two sections, highly contrasting in both length and nature. The “Incantation” is a short, mournful legato melody full of mystery and expectation, wandering, unstable, and without tonality. The “Dance” also begins quietly, but percussion instruments quickly enter, one by one, building a rhythmic pattern of incredible complexity and drive. The entrance of the brass and winds creates an increase in the rhythmic tension, as the dance grows wilder and more frenzied, culminating in a dramatic and exciting conclusion. The guest conductor of this piece will be Dr. Kenneth Carroll, director of athletic bands and associate director of bands at ASU.

The first half of the concert concludes with Symphonic Dance No. 3, “Fiesta” by Clifton Williams.
This piece is one of five Symphonic Dances commissioned by the San Antonio Symphony Orchestra to celebrate its 25th anniversary in 1964. Each of the five dances represents the spirit of a different time and place in the history of San Antonio. This dance reflects the excitement and color of the city's many Mexican celebrations, what Williams called “the pageantry of Latin American celebration – street bands, bull fights, bright costumes, the colorful legacy of a proud people.”

The second half of the concert will begin with Malcolm Arnold’s “Four Scottish Dances, Op. 59.” This movement contains four distinct dances. The first movement is a slow Scottish dance capturing the atmosphere of the Highlands from its very first bar.

The second movement begins quietly, modulates through several keys and contains a long bassoon solo played in a very playful style. The third movement is a lyrical ballad which suggests a beautiful day in the Hebrides. The final movement of the work is a
Highland fling and contains tremendous energy.

In contrast, “The Solitary Dancer,” written by Warren Benson, is an unusual piece in terms of the variety of sounds employed by the percussionists and the clapping and singing of the wind players. This piece deals with quiet, poised energy that one may observe in a dancer in repose, alone with his or her inner music.

The final work on the program is “Mangulina,” composed by Paul Basler. This is a very energetic work that is based on traditional dance rhythms from the Dominican Republic.  It includes many time signature changes as well manipulation of large and small group sounds.

Wind Ensemble personnel includes: piccolo, Hannah Wakefield of Jonesboro; flutes, Brandi McAlister of Marion, Caitlin Sammons of Bald Knob, Ashley Slayton of Paragould, Hannah Sneed of Republic, Mo.; oboes, Lauren Crum of Oxford, Miss., Pamela Masterson of Homestead, Fla., Justin Stewart of Nashville, Tenn.; bassoons, Bryan Eckert of Jonesboro, Tiffany Schmidt of Lakewood, Colo.; Eb clarinet, Jamar Haggans of Wynne, clarinets, Shayeeda Beard of Cherokee Village, Amelia Middleton of Russellville, Jamie Scercy of Harrisburg, Amy Van Slyke of Hardy, Christopher Williams of Jonesboro, Kimberly Winchester of Jonesboro; bass clarinet, Sheena Gibson of Piggott; contrabass clarinet, Scott Dunkin of West Memphis; alto saxophones, Allen Adcock of Bono, Ben Hobson of Grapevine, Texas, Claire Richardson of Jonesboro; tenor saxophone, Daniel Rickman of Bono; baritone saxophone, Chris Moody of Bono; trumpets, Meagan Conley of Osceola, Ben Light of West Ridge, Jonathan Monroe of Jonesboro, Lana Spain of Wynne, Antonio Stark of Jonesboro, Jón Stevenson of North Little Rock; horns, Timothy Hendrix of Jonesboro, Jeremy Lloyd of Gosnell, Charnrit Rerngron-asa of Thailand, Laura Thompson of Jonesboro; trombones, Brandon Avant of West Memphis, J.D. Hogue of Jonesboro, Jonathon McAlister of Marion, Treavor Mitchell of Jonesboro; euphoniums, Zack Rikard of Hardy, Matthew Watson of Walnut Ridge; tubas, Jay Shepherd of Paragould, Daniel Van Aalsburg of Hardy; percussion, Trent Duff of Pocahontas, Alysa Fenner of Jonesboro, Seth Gaskill of Paragould, Cody Ivy of Pocahontas, Janet Rooney of Lake City, Cheyenne Sheppard of Jonesboro; and piano, Priscilla Noyes of Dexter, Mo.

For more information, contact the Music Department at (870) 972-2094.




  NewsPage:  |  Back to TOP  |