Arkansas State University


Sara McNeil
Gina Bowman

(870) 972-3056
fax (870) 972-3693

More information:

Links to News Releases
& Announcements

KASU Public Newsroom
KASU Local News

Campus Calendar
Public activities at ASU

About ASU
Overview, history
and more

Department of Music presents 2010 University Singers Choir Concert Nov. 8

November 2, 2010 -- The Department of Music at Arkansas State University in Jonesboro will present the ASU University Singers in concert on Monday, Nov. 8, at 7:30 p.m. in Riceland Hall, Fowler Center. The University Singers are actually three different choirs—Men’s Choir, Women’s Choir, and the University/Community Choir -- under the direction of Dr. Dale Miller, director of choral activities.  The concert will feature selections performed by each choir and a number by the combined choirs with chamber orchestra.

The first group of the evening to perform will be the Men’s Choir, accompanied by Ruoman Jiang, an international student from China, on the piano. The men will perform “Shout for Joy!” by Dan Davison, “Liebe” by Franz Schubert, “Swell the Full Chorus” by George F. Handel, a doo-wop song, “Change the World,” arranged by Mac Huff, and barbershop tunes “Hey, Little Baby of Mine” arranged by Joe Liles, and “Coney Island Baby” arranged by The Mainstreeters Quartet. Jonesboro sophomore Jarvis Brodie will be soloist in “Change the World.”

Following the Men’s Choir, the Women’s Choir, accompanied by Rujie Wang, also an international student from China, will sing “Minnelied” by Johannes Brahms, “Sicut Cervus” by Rosephanye Powell, an Audrey Snyder arrangement of Billy Joel’s “And So It Goes,” “Do Not Weep” by Sally Albrecht, soloist Cori Beasley, a freshman from Gilmer, Texas, and “Since I Fell for You” arranged by Alan Billingsley, soloist Sara Ray, a freshman from Paragould.

The University/Community Choir is accompanied by instrumental music major Blake Craft, a freshman from Corning. The group will present a novelty arrangement by David P. DeVenney, “The Drunken Sailor,” followed by “There Is Sweet Music Here” by Z. Randall Stroope, Erin Reagan and Jana Waters, soloists, “The Prayer of St. Francis” by Allen Pote, solo by Nick Robbins, and a spiritual selection, “This Little Light of Mine” arranged by Moses Hogan. Soloists for the Hogan piece are Advance, Mo., freshman Jesse Holder and Cassopolis, Mich., senior Craig Young. The final piece by the University/Community Choir will be “Paratum cor meum” by Johann Michael Haydn. The choir will be accompanied by a chamber orchestra which includes Brian Henkelmann, organ, Rebecca Markowski, Leonie Straka, Ann Swaty, Dr. Bill Keisker, and Marcia Burns, violin; Meghan Mathews Adair, cello; and John T. Hays, string bass.

The program will conclude with a motet by Johann Pachelbel, “Deus in Adjutorium.”  Members of the Men’s and Women’s Choirs will join the Community singers for this number, and Paul Markowski, violist, will join the chamber group for this number. 

Personnel for the ASU Women’s Choir include first sopranos: Jessica Buford of Jessieville, Mo., Emily Garren of New Hope, Minn., Carmen Johnson of Brinkley, Katie Matney of Trumann, Hannah McQuay of Jonesboro, Maegan Presson of Manila, and Tess Wheetley of Advance, Mo.  Second sopranos are Deanna Curtis of Mammoth Spring, Victoria Dryer, Abby Ganony, Dena Mueller, and Kei-Lynn Swindle, all of Jonesboro, and Tara Owens of Rector. Singing first alto are Cori Beasley of Gilmer, Texas, Michelle Byrd of Pine Bluff, Mercedes Grimm of Dexter, Mo., Paige Harris of Benton, Megumi Katayama of Kawasaki, Japan, Sara Ray of Paragould, Nadja Smith of Jonesboro, and Leonie Straka of Hanover, Germany. Singing second alto will be Harmony Cagle of Rector, Morgan Langley of White Hall, Brianna Massey of Little Rock, Janette Robinson and Jazmine Sumler of Jonesboro, and Elizabeth Rountree of Hot Springs.

Personnel for the ASU Men’s Choir include first tenors: Courtney Hostler of Pine Bluff, Craig McAlister of Jonesboro, Adam McLoy of Batesville, Louis Aaron Simpson of Memphis, and William Weaver of Cabot.  Second tenors are Logan Bushong of Paragould, Jordan Griffin of Sherwood, Braelon Leniear of Little Rock, Edward Pruiett III of Wynne, and Nick Robbins of Manila. Baritones are Ray Fromme of Highland, Il., Romero Harper of Wynne, Jacob Kelley, Kale McDaniel, and Reid Shelton, all of Jonesboro, and Toan Tran of Viet Nam. Singing bass are Kyehl Adams of Trumann, Jarvis Brodie of Jonesboro, Ryan Lee and Jeremy Smith of Wynne, and Ethan Pugh of Paragould.

The University/Community Choir membership includes sopranos: Susan Allen, Misty Belly, Nancy Johnson, and Nancy Miller, all of Jonesboro, Lauren Bridges of Marmaduke, Suemone Christian of Bryant, Beth Dial of Malvern, Lela Dudley of Tupelo, Miss., Jesse Holder of Advance, Mo., Erin Reagan of Munford, Tenn., Ginah Smith of White Hall, Megan Stapleton of Pocahontas, Jenna Stender of Piggott, and Rhonda Whybrew of Newport.  Altos are Beasley, Megan Bishop, Katie Cole, Alissa Cooper, Jessica Keasler, and Glenda McEuen, all of Paragould, Rhinda Kesselring, Michele Murphy, Sloane Simmons, Jane Tims, Dianne Wage and Jana Waters, all of Jonesboro, Alexx Ritchey of Blytheville, Brittany Shrable of Violet Hill, Glory Smith of Alma, Leonie Straka of Hanover, Germany, Joniece Trammel of Pocahontas, Crystal Richards of Osceola, and Yukiko Wakabayashi of Japan. Tenors are Chuck Allen, Craig McAlister, and John Yerger, all of Jonesboro, Adonias Finch of Dyer, Tenn., Steve Horner of Bono, Robbins, and Craig Young of Cassopolis, Mich.  Basses are Gabrien Brown of Newport, Adam Earhart of Bryant, David Lyttle of Blytheville, and Kelly Craft, Sean Pollock, James Tritch, and Bill Wage, all of Jonesboro.

The concert is free and open to the public.  For more details, call the Choral Office at (870) 972-3841.

                                                       # # #

  NewsPage:  |  Back to TOP  |