Arkansas State University


Markham Howe
Sara McNeil
Gina Bowman

(870) 972-3056
fax (870) 972-3693

More information:

Links to News Releases
& Announcements

Campus Calendar
Public activities at ASU

About ASU
Overview, history
and more

Department of Music to present 2009 University Singers in concert Nov. 5

October 30, 2009 -- The Department of Music at Arkansas State University in Jonesboro will present the ASU University Singers in concert on Thursday, November 5, at 7:30 p.m. in Riceland Hall, Fowler Center.  University Singers is composed of three choirs—Men’s Choir, Women’s Choir, and the University/Community Choir--under the direction of Dr. Dale Miller, director of choral activities.  Graduate conducting assistants Janet Tullos of Cabot and Patrick Manes of Bryant will also be conducting the Men’s and Women’s Choirs. The performance will feature pieces by the Women’s Choir and University/Community Choir that commemorate the 200th anniversary of the death of Franz Josef Haydn. The concert is free of charge and open to the public.

The first group of the evening to perform will be the Women’s Choir, accompanied n the piano by senior vocal performance major Willie Sullivan of Jonesboro. To honor Haydn’s death, Dr. Miller will conduct the women in a setting of “Agnus Dei” from the “Mass in Time of War,” and will also conduct “I Carry Your Heart” by Farnell, “Swing Down Chariot” adapted by Young Women in Harmony, and “He Never Failed Me Yet” by Ray. Mr. Manes will conduct “Weep No More” by Childs and “I Feel a Song Coming On.” Soloists for the performance will include Jessica Baldwin of Paragould and Kari Rickman of Bono.

Following the Women’s Choir, the Men’s Choir, also accompanied by Sullivan, will perform “Ka Hia Manu” arranged by Hatfield, “Steal Away” arranged by Helvey, “A Red, Red Rose” by Barnum, “Go Down, Moses” by Hogan, and the traditional barbershop tune “Mister Moon” arranged by Merrill and Hicks under Miller’s direction. Ms. Tullos will conduct the Men in a performance of “Tell My Father” arranged by Jonesboro native Andrea Ramsey, assisted by oboist Lauren Crum, a graduate oboe performance major. Soloist will be tenor Chris VanBrook.

The University/Community Choir will present another number by Haydn, “Awake the Harp” taken from his oratorio “Creation.” Piano accompanist for the group is Yuese Zheng, a freshman foreign exchange student from China. The choir will also sing two unaccompanied spirituals, “All My Trials” arranged by Luboff, and “I’m Gonna Sing ‘til the Spirit Moves in My Heart” by Hogan.  Soloist for the Luboff piece is Nick Robbins, senior vocal music education major from Manila.

To conclude the program, the choirs will combine to present an unaccompanied performance of “Kyrie, Gloria, and Credo” from Palestrina’s “Missa Brevis,” and the choral benediction “The Lord Bless You and Keep You” by Lutkin. Cantor for the “Gloria and Credo” will be Mr. Manes. Both of these works will be sung by the ASU choirs as they tour Italy in March.

Personnel for the ASU Women’s Choir include first sopranos: Kari Rickman of Bono, Katie Matney, Anna Ganong, Lindsey Lee, Hannah McQuay, and Samantha Sanders, all of Jonesboro. Second sopranos are Jessica Baldwin of Paragould, Dena Mueller of Jonesboro, Erin Reagan of Munford, Tenn., Kate Smith of Wynne, Danielle Webb of Senatobia, Miss., and Tamera Keener of Jonesboro. Singing first alto are Magan Canoy of Jonesboro, Suemone Christian of Bryant, Page Harris of Benton, Madison Kuebler of Searcy, and Jordan Farris, Courtney Miller, and Jana Waters of Jonesboro. Singing second alto will be Michelle Byrd of Pine Bluff, Katie Cole of Paragould, Elizabeth Rountree of Hot Springs, Sloane Simmons of Jonesboro, Donyelle Spearman of Newport, Laruen Turpin of Trumann, and Miranda Weaver of Rector.

Personnel for the ASU Men’s Choir include first tenors: Josh Dennis of Springfield, Mo., Wesley Hooper of Harrisburg, Courtney Hostler of Pine Bluff, Cody Steele of Paragould, and Craig McAlister of Jonesboro.  Second tenors are Mauricio Dixon of Wynne, Steven McCloud of Chicago, IL, Nick Robbins of Manila, Chris VanBrook of Hoxie, and Sam Lee and Chris Orr of Jonesboro.  Baritones are Romero Harper of Wynne, Conley Meridith of Imboden, Toan Tran of Vietnam, and Kale McDaniel, Matt Morgan, and Taylor Woodruff of Jonesboro. Singing bass are Adam Earhart of Bryant, Greg Eberhard of Harrisburg, Drew McCann of West Memphis, Ethan Pugh of Paragould, Drew Warren of Manila, and Rylan Williams of Siloam Springs.

The University/Community Choir membership includes sopranos: Lauren Bridges of Marmaduke, Beth Dial of Malvern, Katie Fischer of Jacksonville, Catie Holiman of Gideon, Mo., Melissa Jackson of Pine Bluff, Krystal Smith of Paragould, Megan Stapleton of Pocahontas, Janet Tullos of Cabot, and Susan Allen, Becca Craft, Terri Jones, and Nancy Miller, of Jonesboro. Altos are Megan Bishop of Paragould, Jeanie Clements of Batesville, Jamie Holiman of Gideon, Mo., Angela Peterson of Mammoth Spring, Joniece Trammel of Pocahontas, Tami Robbins, Kristy Shotwell and Michelle Shotwell, of Manila, Crystal Richards, Katherine Richards, and Laura Richards of Osceola, and Gayle Howe, Rhinda Kesselring, Jane Tims, Dianne Wage, and Kathryn White, of Jonesboro. Tenors are Kyle Plunkett of Pine Bluff, Nick Robbins of Manila, Jay Shepherd of Paragould, Antwon Staton of Little Rock, Chris VanBrook of Hoxie, Keith Westbrook of Benton, and Chuck Allen, Craig McAlister, and John Yerger, of Jonesboro. Basses are Gabrien Brown of Newport, David Lyttle of Blytheville, Patrick Manes of Bryant, Blake Markum of Paragould, Andrew Pigott of Orlando, FL, and Jarvis Brodee, Kelly Craft, Markham Howe, Sean Pollock, and Bill Wage, of Jonesboro.

The concert is free of charge and open to the public. For more details, contact the Choral Office at (870) 972-3841.

 # # #


  NewsPage:  |  Back to TOP  |