Arkansas State University


Sara McNeil
Gina Bowman

(870) 972-3056
fax (870) 972-3693

More information:

Links to News Releases
& Announcements

KASU Public Newsroom
KASU Local News

Campus Calendar
Public activities at ASU

About ASU
Overview, history
and more

Department of Music presents ASU Trombone Choir Nov. 15

November 3, 2010 -- The Department of Music presents the ASU Trombone Choir on Monday, Nov. 15, at 7:30 p.m. in the Fine Arts Recital Hall, 2412 Quawpaw Way, Jonesboro. The concert is free of charge and open to the public.  The ASU Trombone Choir was formed in 1973 and gave its first formal concert in 1974. The ensemble has performed at two of international trombone festivals and several state music conventions.  There have also been numerous graduates from the choir who have been accepted to prestigious graduate music schools and alumni who are performing and teaching throughout the United States.  The ASU Trombone Choir is presently under the direction of Dr. Neale Bartee.

The night’s performance will begin with “Ricercare del 12 tono” by Andrea Gabrieli, arranged by Jay Friedman; “Three Equali for Four Trombones” by Ludwig van Beethoven; “Inveni David” by Anton Brickner, arranged by Donald V. King; and “Piece for Six Trombones” by Burrill Phillips.  After a short intermission, the choir will proceed with “”Big Band Bones” by James Christensen; “Here’s That Rainy Day: by Jimmy Van Heusen, arranged by Lew Davies; “Jazz Brazil” by Dave Wheeler, to be performed by Dad’s Bones; and “Bap Bap” by Mark Mullins.

Members of the ASU Trombone Choir are Lindsay Baltz of Hoxie, Brolin Brown of Sherwood, Dustin Cole of Paragould, Hunter Gilmore and Chris Smith of Greene County Tech, Devondre Hince of Jacksonville, Norma Lopez and Kyle O’Brien of Batesville, Roy Massey of Salem, Alex McClung of Trumann, Treavor Mitchell and Andrew Ring of Westside, Nikki Mullen of Gravel Ridge, and Nathan Peoples and Adam Waddell of Nettleton.  Assisting the Trombone Choir will be Aaron Decher of Nettleton on piano, Matt Bounds of Poplar Bluff, Mo. on bass, and Garrett Tyler of Jonesboro on drums.

For details, call the Department of Music at (870) 972-2094.
                                                       # # #

  NewsPage:  |  Back to TOP  |