Arkansas State University


Markham Howe
Sara McNeil
Gina Bowman

(870) 972-3056
fax (870) 972-3069

More information:

Links to News Releases
& Announcements

Campus Calendar
Public activities at ASU

Campus News
Faculty and Staff

About ASU
Overview, history
and more

Department of Music presents ASU Trombone Choir, Nov. 11

Oct. 30, 2008 --  Arkansas State University’s Department of Music announces a performance by the ASU Trombone Choir on Tuesday, Nov. 11 at 7:30 p.m. in the Fine Arts Recital Hall. The concert is free and open to the public.

The ASU Trombone Choir was formed in 1973 and gave its first formal concert in 1974. The ensemble has performed at two International Trombone Festivals and several state music conventions. There have also been numerous graduates form the choir who have been accepted to prestigious graduate music schools, as well as alumni who are performing and teaching throughout the United States. The ASU Trombone Choir is presently under the direction of Dr. Neale Bartee.

The performance will begin with “Fantasia” by Thomas Stoltzer; “Canzona Septimi Toni No. 2” by Giovanni Gabrielli; “Fugue K. 401” by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, to be performed by the Select Quartet; “Prelude to Act III, Die Meistersingers” by Richard Wagner; and “Canzona for 8 Trombones” by Walter S. Hartley.  After a short intermission, the choir will proceed with “Free Wheeler” by Dave Wheeler; “Walkin’ Bones” by James Christensen; “Back Country Landscape” by Wayne Harrison, to be performed by Dad’s Bones; “Brewmeister” by Michael Davis, to be performed by the Pro Bones; and “I Can’t Stop Lovin’ You,” arranged by Dr. Neale Bartee.

Members of the ASU Trombone Choir are Kade Holliday of Jonesboro, Kyle Manley and Chris Smith of Paragould, Jonathon McAlister of Marion, Treavor Mitchell of Westside, Colton Morrison of Magnolia, Jeremy Ramsey of Brinkley, Corey Spencer of Wynne, Adam Waddell of Jonesboro, and Braxton Washington of Little Rock.  Accompanying the trombone choir are Jay Shepherd of Paragould, guitar, Kenny Smith of Piggott, bass, and Bryan Elder of Jonesboro, drums.

Members of the Select Quartet are Kade Holliday, Jonathon McAlister, Treavor Mitchell, and Corey Spencer. Members of Dad’s Bones are Jonathon McAlister, Kade Holliday, Adam Waddell, Treavor Mitchell, and Corey Spencer, also accompanied by Jay Shepherd, guitar, Kenny Smith, bass, and Bryan Elder, drums. Members of Pro Bones are Neale Bartee, Brice Evans, Steve Alsup, Jack Mullins, and Corey Spencer, with Joy Sanford, piano, Tom Mason and John Hays,  Bass, and John Long, Drums.

For more information, contact the Department of Music at (870) 972-2094.          



  NewsPage:  |  Back to TOP  |