Arkansas State University


Markham Howe
Sara McNeil

(870) 972-3056
fax (870) 972-3069

More information:

Links to News Releases
& Announcements

Campus Calendar
Public activities at ASU

Campus News
Faculty and Staff

About ASU
Overview, history
and more

Department of Music presents Symphonic Winds Ensemble April 15

April 8, 2008 -- The Department of Music at Arkansas State University will present the Symphonic Winds in concert Tuesday, April 15, at 7:30 p.m. in Fowler Center’s Riceland Hall, 201 Olympic Drive, Jonesboro.

The Symphonic Winds ensemble is under the direction of Dr. Kenneth Carroll and will be performing “Blue Lake” by John Barnes Chance, “Sentimentals” by Percy Aldridge Grainger, edited by R. Mark Rogers, and “Symphony for Band, Op. 69,” by Vincent Persichetti.
The Symphonic Winds personnel includes flutes Sunnie McCarty of Hardy, Caitlin Sammons of Bald Knob, A.J. Wetton of Van Buren, Mo., Samantha Cohea of Marion, and Candice Crawford of Hot Springs. Horns include Matthew Allen of Magnolia, Laura Thompson of Jonesboro, Lauren Howard of Sherwood, Jocelyn Eversoll of Highland, and Jacob Davis of Piggott. Oboes include Katie Fischer of Jacksonville, Kellie Laughlin of Piggott, and Valarie Hoke of Jonesboro. Trumpets include Joseph Curtis of Trumann, Angela Guajardo of Marion, Elliot Gore of Jonesboro, Woodrow Crawford of Jonesboro, and Sarah DeClerk of Pocahontas. Clarinets include Shayeeda Beard of Highland, Christopher Williams of Jonesboro, Jamar Haggans of Wynne, Samantha Vaughn of Pollard, Amy Van Slyke of Highland, Jamie Scercy of Harrisburg, Elizabeth Biggs of Jonesboro, Amelia Middleton of Russellville, Tony Saylors of Paragould, Ashley Handcock of Pine Bluff, Nicole Nebeker of Trumann, and Mylie Brown of Walnut Ridge. Trombones include Kade Holliday of Jonesboro, Jeremy Ramsey of Brinkley, Kyle Manley of Paragould, Colton Morrison of Magnolia, and Matt Strawbridge of Jonesboro. Euphoniums include Jake Davis of Piggott and Jennifer Hall of Tyronza. Tuba include Lonnie T. Simmons II of Jonesboro, Kristen Scott of Piggott, and Ryan Williams of Siloam Springs. Bass clarinet is Nicole Nebeker. Bassoons include Courtney LaFarlette and Amy Penny, both of Jonesboro. Alto saxophone includes Patrick Manes of Bryant, Ben Hobson of Dallas (Grapevine), Texas, Ashley Flory of Highland, Michael Newson of Memphis, and Chris Moody of Jonesboro. Tenor saxophone include Daidreon Clayton of Jonesboro and Taylor Mackey of Hoxie. Baritone saxophone is Adam Leslie of Jonesboro. Percussion includes Perry Harper of Paragould, Shady Francis of Jonesboro, Dustin Barker of Paragould, Cassie Blevins of Jonesboro, Ben Merritt of Jonesboro, Gabrien M. Brown of Newport, Bryan Elder of Jonesboro, and Keri Pair of Stephenville, Texas.

The concert is free and open to the public.
For more details, please call the Department of Music at (870) 972-2094.




  NewsPage:  |  Back to TOP  |