Arkansas State University


Markham Howe
Sara McNeil
Gina Bowman

(870) 972-3056
fax (870) 972-3693

More information:

Links to News Releases
& Announcements

KASU Public Newsroom
KASU Local News

Campus Calendar
Public activities at ASU

About ASU
Overview, history
and more

Department of Music to present ASU Percussion Ensemble, Trombone Choir April 22

April 19, 2010 -- The Department of Music at Arkansas State University in Jonesboro will present the ASU Percussion Ensemble and Trombone Choir in concert on Thursday, April 22, at 7:30 p.m. in Riceland Hall, Fowler Center. The concert is free of charge and open to the public.

The ASU Percussion Ensemble is under the direction of Craig Collison and will perform “Sonatina” by Fisher Tull; “Ionisation” by Edgar Varese, with Matt Ryals on the piano; and “Ritual Music” by David Skidmore. After a short intermission, the ASU Trombone Choir, under the direction of Dr. Neale Bartee, will perform “Landsighting” by Edvard Grieg, arr. by Erling Lian; “Elisa’s Procession to the Cathedral” from “Lohengrin” by Richard Wagner, arr. by Jack Gale; “Cole Porter Medley” arr. by Steve Sample; “Sentimental” arr. by Michael Davis, played by the Pro Bones; and “Monday Night” by Stan Pethel.

The Pro Bones is a musical ensemble with five trombones and rhythm section. The ensemble plays swing, jazz, rock, ballad, bossa nova, and other popular styles of music. Dr. Neale Bartee, professor of music at Arkansas State University, formed the group in 2008  as a venue for former members of the ASU Trombone Choir to continue performing. Members are from four decades of Dr. Bartee’s teaching—the 1970s, 1980s, 1990s and 2000s.  All of the Pro Bones are alumni of Arkansas State and are working professionally, although not all are in music. The group has performed at Delta Symphony fund raisers, on the ASU Trombone Choir concert on campus, and for the Jonesboro Treble Clef Music Club.

Personnel for the ASU Percussion Ensemble are Gabrien Brown of Newport, Seth Gaskill, Jarrett Tedder, and Justin Ray of Paragould, Adam Inman of Hoxie, Bryan Elder and Addison Boling of Jonesboro, Jason Deberry of Dexter, Mo., Cody Skaggs of Leachville, Jon Odom of Poplar Bluff, Mo., and Dylan Dimauro of Bolton Landing, N.Y.

Personnel for the ASU Trombone Choir are Brandon Avant of West Memphis, Zach Bailey of Pocahontas, Lindsey Baltz of Hoxie, Lucas Edwards of Cabot, Devondre Hince of North Pulaski, Kade Holliday of Jonesboro, Jonathon McAlister of Marion, Treavor Mitchell and Jason Upton of Westside, Colton Morrison of Magnolia, Kyle O’Brien of Batesville, Nathan Peoples of Nettleton, and Chris Smith of Greene County Tech.  Accompanying the Trombone Choir will be Jay Shepherd of Paragould on guitar, Evan Barwick of Poplar Bluff, Mo., on bass, and Addison Boling of Nettleton on drums.

For more information about the concert or ASU music, please feel free to contact the music office at (870) 972-2094.

                                                       # # #

  NewsPage:  |  Back to TOP  |