Arkansas State University


Markham Howe
Sara McNeil
Gina Bowman

(870) 972-3056
fax (870) 972-3693

More information:

Links to News Releases
& Announcements

Campus Calendar
Public activities at ASU

About ASU
Overview, history
and more

ASU Jazz Ensemble, Jazz Lab Band, present final concert of year Nov. 19

Nov. 17, 2009 -- The Department of Music at Arkansas State University in Jonesboro will present the ASU Jazz Ensemble in concert on Thursday, November 19, at 7:30 p.m. in Riceland Hall, Fowler Center. The Jazz Ensemble is under the direction of Dr. E. Ron Horton.  The concert is free of charge and open to the public.

For its final concert of the year, the ASU Jazz Band and Jazz Lab Band will visit the musical world of Miles Davis.  The concert will explore the music of people who influenced Davis, such as the great Dizzy Gillespie, and his contemporary Horace Silver. The bands will also perform music by musicians who were influenced by Davis, such as Herbie Hancock and Wayne Shorter.  The band will also perform some of the music that Davis was famous for during his cool jazz period. This concert will also feature a piece by ASU’s director of Jazz Studies, Dr. E. Ron Horton.

Members of the Jazz Ensemble include Claire Richardson of Jonesboro and Clinton Curtis of Trumann, alto saxophones; Mike Newson of Memphis, Tenn. and Allen Adcock of Jonesboro, tenor saxophones; Joshua Carter of Jonesboro, baritone saxophone; Adam Peoples Waddell of Jonesboro and Devondre Hince of Jacksonville, trombones;  Joseph Curtis of Trumann, Antonio Starks of Jonesboro, Tim Moore of Dexter, Mo., and Meagan Conley of Luxora, trumpets; Jay Shepherd of Paragould, guitar; Kevin Cremeens of Jonesboro, bass; Bryan Elder of Jonesboro and Jason Deberry of Poplar Bluff, Mo., drums; and Aaron Fisher of Southaven, Miss., piano.

Members of the Jazz Lab Band include Ethan Pugh of Paragould, Eric Escue of Jonesboro, Jon Stevenson of North Little Rock, and Angela Guajardo of Marion, trumpets; Zac Bailey and Chris Smith of Paragould, Jon Upton and Treavor Mitchell of Joneboro, trombones; Ashley Florey of Jonesboro, Bobby Coyle of Piggot, Chance George of Searcy, Trent Gately of West Memphis, Brittany Reese of Conway, Saxophones;  Jon Odom of Poplar Bluff, Mo., Mauricio Dixon of Wynne, Kevin Cremeens, Curtis Farley, and Lance Patterson of Jonesboro, rhythm section.

For more information about the concert or ASU music, contact the music office at (870) 972-2094. 

 # # #

  NewsPage:  |  Back to TOP  |