Arkansas State University


Tom Moore
Sara McNeil

(870) 972-3056
fax (870) 972-3069

More information:

Links to News Releases
& Announcements

Campus Calendar
Public activities at ASU

Campus News
Faculty and Staff

About ASU
Overview, history
and more

Department of Music presents ASU choir with Florida College Chorus

March 4, 2008 -- The Department of Music at Arkansas State University will present the Concert Choir and the Florida College Chorus on Sunday, March 9, at 3:00 p.m. in Fowler Center’s Riceland Hall, 201 Olympic Drive, Jonesboro.

The ASU Concert Choir, under the direction of Dr. Dale Miller, will perform Eleanor Daley's "Life's Mirror" featuring Katie Fischer on oboe, Jack Halloran's arrangement of "Witness," and Anders Paulssen's arrangement of "Deep River" featuring Patrick Manes on soprano saxophone.  The choirs will join together to sing three numbers from the Florida College repertoire, Felix Mendelssohn's "Heilig," Moses Hogan's "I Got a Robe," and Peter C. Lutkin's "The Lord Bless You and Keep You."

The Florida Chorus, directed by ASU alumnus Mr. Jon Bassett, will perform John Ness Beck’s “Ye Shall Go Out With Joy,” Anton Bruckner’s “Locus Iste,” Ronald Staheli’s arrangement of “How Can I Keep From Singing,” Max Reger’s “Nachtlied,” William Dawson’s “Soon Ah Will Be Done,” Eric Whitacre’s “Water Night,” Johannes Brahms’ “Vineta,” Eric Thiman’s ”O, No,” and Stephen Hatfield’s arrangement of “Son de Camaguey.” The Florida Alumni Chorus will meet both choirs on stage and perform Peter Lutkin’s “The Lord Bless You And Keep You.”

Personnel for the ASU Concert Choir include Whitney Tucker of Wynne, Angela Jackson of Naylor, Mo., Pat Register of Huntsville, Ala., Megan Throesch of Pocahontas, Tiffany Mitchell of Springdale, Crystal Haralson of Paragould, and Kari Rickman of Jonesboro, first sopranos; Mollie Black of Benton, Katie Fischer of Jacksonville, Renee Porter of Kingwood, Texas, Crystal Stormes of Goobertown, Amy Darnell of Poplar Bluff, Mo., Katherine Richards of Osceola, Rebecca Craft of Jonesboro, Katie Willeford of El Dorado, and Melissa Jackson of Pine Bluff, second sopranos; Lauren Bridges of Marmaduke, Tiffanie Holland of Bryant, Abby Craft of Jonesboro, Sarah Moore of Dexter, Mo., Summer Duncan of Mountain View, Helen Ward of Little Rock, Jeanie Clements of Batesville, and Lisa Richards of Osceola, first altos; Jessica Crociata of Tampa, Fla., Savanna Hailey of Paragould, Susan Hulett of Mountain Home, Kimberley Toots of Little Rock, Kristyn George of Jonesboro, and Lacey Griggs of Paragould, second altos; Josh Dennis of Springfield, Mo., Michael Coles of Augusta, Rusty Shields of Osceola , Elliott Andrews of Russellville, John Yerger of Jonesboro, and Fletcher Teague of Hamburg, first tenors; Kyle Berry of Austin, Justin Register of Huntsville, Ala., Dustin Sullivan of Kennett, Craig McAlister and Willie Sullivan of Jonesboro, Jeremy Carter of Paragould, Adam Rigney of Blytheville, and Wesley Hooper of Harrisburg, second tenors; Patrick Manes of Bryant, Derrick Palmer of Brinkley, Nick Robbins of Manila, Skyler Mays of Cherokee Village, Andrew Piggott of Tampa, Fla., Josh Lovett of Hamburg, Mark Parsley of Malvern, and Sam Osborn of Paragould, baritones; Gabrien Brown of Newport, Brandon Stroud and Jarvis Brodie of Jonesboro, Jonathan Trail, Blake Markum and Jordan Nealy of Paragould, basses.

The concert is free and open to the public. Please call the choral office, at (870) 972-3841, for additional information.




  NewsPage:  |  Back to TOP  |