Arkansas State University


Sara McNeil
Gina Bowman

(870) 972-3056
fax (870) 972-3693

More information:

Links to News Releases
& Announcements

KASU Public Newsroom
KASU Local News

Campus Calendar
Public activities at ASU

About ASU
Overview, history
and more

Department of Music presents ASU Concert Orchestra Nov. 9

November 2, 2010 -- The Department of Music at Arkansas State University in Jonesboro will present the ASU Concert Orchestra in concert on Tuesday, Nov. 9, at 7:30 p.m. in Riceland Hall, Fowler Center. The orchestra is under the direction of Dr. Neale Bartee. The concert is free of charge and open to the public.

The evening’s performance will include “March and Procession of Bacchus” from the Ballet “Sylvia” by Leo Delibes, arranged by Merle J. Isaac; “Sous le dome epais” from the Opera “Lakme” by Leo Delibes, featuring Renee Porter Smith and Kari Rickman, soprano soloists;” Carmen Suite No. 1” by Georges Bizet; “Overture in D minor” from Concerto Grosso Op. 3, No.5 by George Frideric Handel, arranged by Merle J. Isaac; “St. Paul’s Suite for String Orchestra,” Gustav Holst; and “The Great Gate of Kiev” from Pictures at an Exhibition” by Modest Mussorgsky, orchestrated by Carl Simpson.

Members of the ASU Concert Orchestra are as follows: William Overcash of Brinkley, Kate Ryan, Bill Keisker, Roby Johnson, Sebastien Tarkington, and Anastasia Tarkington, all of Jonesboro, first violin; Juka Maeda of Hokkaido, Japan, Sarabeth Overcash of Brinkley, and Ann Swaty, Hope Smith, Samantha Meeker, and Sean Carey, all of Jonesboro, and Evan Marshall of Paragould, second violin; Shenetta Payne of Pine Bluff, Xavier Tarkington of Jonesboro, Ashley Reeves of Memphis, TN, and Ashley Hancock of Pine Bluff, viola; Sara Rickman of Conway, Ena Sano of Japan, and Patrick Moore and Meghan Matthews of Jonesboro, cello; Derek Doyle and David Eckert of Jonesboro, bass; Ruoman Jiang of Fuijan, China, piano; Candice Crawford of Hot Springs, Courtney Byrd of Valley View, and Pershauna Johnson of Blytheville, flute/piccolo; Daniel Estes of Irving, Texas, Clay Rucker of Salem, Valarie Hoke of Jonesboro, and Joshua Moss of Conway, oboe/English horn; Kim Roberson of Morrilton and Elizabeth Biggs of Jonesboro, clarinet; S’Bastien Isom of Paragould, bass clarinet; Conner Gott of Jonesboro and Kellie Laughlin of Piggott, bassoon; Meghan Bishop of Paragould, Andrew Webb of Dexter, Mo., Chris VanBrook of Hoxie, and Laura Johnson of Jonesboro, horn; Matt Penny of Jonesboro, Landon Miller of Batesville, and Hunter Webb of Marion, trumpet; Kyle O’Brien of Batesville, Devondre Hince of North Little Rock, and Brolin
Brown of Sherwood, trombone; Jacob Van Aalsburg of Highland and Jonathan Edmonds of Batesville, tuba; Carlos Serna of Nettleton, Keedrick Campbell of Lepanto, Gabrien Brown of Newport, Dylan DiMauro of Bolton, N.Y., Jonathan Odom of Poplan Bluff, Mo., and Kennion Gulley of Hot Springs, timpani/percussion.

Donations may be made to the Orchestra fund or the Aileen Matthews String Scholarship fund at the ASU Foundation, P.O. Box 1990, State University, AR 72467.

For more information about the concert or ASU music, contact the music office at (870) 972-2094. 
                                                       # # #

  NewsPage:  |  Back to TOP  |