Arkansas State University


Markham Howe
Sara McNeil
Gina Bowman

(870) 972-3056
fax (870) 972-3069

More information:

Links to News Releases
& Announcements

Campus Calendar
Public activities at ASU

Campus News
Faculty and Staff

About ASU
Overview, history
and more

Department of Music presents ASU Concert Orchestra in performance Nov. 4

Oct. 29, 2008 -- Arkansas State University’s Concert Orchestra will perform on Tuesday, Nov. 4,  at 7:3 0 p.m., in Riceland Hall, Fowler Center, 201 Olympic Drive, Jonesboro. Admission is free and the public is welcome. The Concert Orchestra is under the direction of Dr. Neale Bartee.

The evening will begin with “Hoedown” from “Rodeo” by Aaron Copland; “Sonata a Cinque No.1 for Trumpet and Strings” by Guiseppe Torelli, featuring Richard Jorgensen, soloist; and “L’Arlesienne Suite No. 2” by Georges Bizet. After a short intermission, the orchestra will proceed with “Overture to Egmont” by Ludwig van Beethoven; “In the Steppes of Central Asia” by Alexander Borodin; and “Jupiter” from “The Planets” by Gustav Holst.

Performing in the ASU Concert Orchestra are first violins, including Kate Ryan, concertmaster, of Memphis, Tenn., William Overcash of Brinkley, Nico Spiller of Hannover, Germany, Bill Keisker, Sebastian Tarkington, Roby Johnson, and Friedric Tarkington of Jonesboro.  Second violins are Hannah Wakefield of Huntsville, Ala., Ann Swaty, Hope Smith, Marcia Burns, Jennifer Hutchinson, Robert Burns, Anastasia Tarkington, and Brooke Bomeke of Jonesboro.  Violas include Chris Overcash of Brinkley, Paul Markowski and Xavier Tarkington of Jonesboro, and Shenetta Payne and Lorie Shavers of Pine Bluff. Cellos include Stacy Murray of Conway, and Meghan Matthews, Elaine Bartee, and Richard Burns of Jonesboro. Bass player: Kevin Cremeens of Westside. Saxophone: Claire Richardson of Jonesboro. Euphonium: Matt Watson of Walnut Ridge. Piano: Luca Strazullo of Italy.  Flutes/Piccolos are Ashley Slayton of Paragould, Candice Crawford of Hot Springs, Hannah Wakefield of Huntsville, Ala., and Samantha Cohea of Marion. Oboe:  Katie Fisher of Jacksonville and Valerie Hoke of Jonesboro. English Horn: Pamela Masterson of Homestead, Fla. Clarinets: Amy Van Slyke of Hardy, Samantha Vaughn of Piggott, Kevin Burr of Mountain Home, and Melanie Partin of Conway. Bass Clarinet: Amy Van Slyke of Hardy. Bassoons: Tiffany Schmidt of Lakeview, Colo., and Bryan Eckert and Courtney Lafarlette of Jonesboro. Horns: Charnrit Rengron-Asa of Thailand, Jeremy Lloyd of Gosnell, Amber Keefer of Jonesboro, and Joclyn Eversoll of Highland. Trumpets: Joseph Curtis of Trumann and Jon Stevenson of North Little Rock. Trombones: J.D. Hogue of Jonesboro, Jeremy Ramsey of Brinkley, and Treavor Mitchell of Westside. Tuba: Kenny Smith of Piggott. Timpani/Percussion: Gabe Brown of Newport, Matt Boston of West Memphis, Dustin Barker of Paragould, and Moose Davis of Jonesboro.

Donations may be made to the Orchestra fund or the Aileen Matthews String Scholarship fund at the ASU Foundation, P.O. Box 1990, State University, AR 72467.
For details, contact the Department of Music at (870) 972-2094.  



  NewsPage:  |  Back to TOP  |