Arkansas State University


Tom Moore
Sara McNeil

(870) 972-3056
fax (870) 972-3069

More information:

Links to News Releases
& Announcements

Campus Calendar
Public activities at ASU

Campus News
Faculty and Staff

About ASU
Overview, history
and more

Department of Music to present ASU Concert Orchestra

Oct. 23, 2007 -- The Department of Music at Arkansas State University in Jonesboro will present
the ASU Concert Orchestra Tuesday, Oct.  30, at 7:30 p.m. in Riceland Hall, Fowler Center, 201 Olympic Drive, Jonesboro. 

The ASU Concert Orchestra is under the direction of Dr. Neale Bartee. Musical selections include “An Outdoor Overture” by Aaron Copland; “Suite in A Minor,” ”Air a l’ Italien,” and “Rejouissance” by Georg Philipp Telemann, featuring Joe Bonner, soloist; from the “Algerian Suite” by Camille Saint-Saens, the “March Militaire Francaise;” “Night on Bald Mountain” by Modeste Moussorgsky, orchestrated by Nicolai Rimsky-Korsakov; “Baba-Yaga” by Anatole Liadov; and from the Firebird Suite by Igor Stravinski, the “Berceuse” and “Finale,” edited by Steven L. Rosenhaus.

Personnel for the ASU Concert Orchestra include first violins: Kate Ryan, concertmaster, of Memphis, William Overcash of Brinkley,  Sebastian Tarkington of Jonesboro, Kill Keisker of Jonesboro, and Roby Johnson of Jonesboro. Second violins are: Ann Swaty, Hope Smith, Friedric Tarkington, Ellen Burns, and Robert Burns, all of Jonesboro.  Violas are:  Paul Markowski of Jonesboro, Xavier Tarkington of Jonesboro, Chris Overcash of Brinkley, and Marcia Burns of Jonesboro. Cellos are: Meghan Matthews, Elaine Bartee, and Richard Burns, all of Jonesboro. Bassist is Kevin Cremeens of Jonesboro. Harpsichordist and pianist is ASU faculty member Dr. Lauren Schack Clark. Flutes/piccolos are: Melinda Watts of Nixa, Mo., Candice Crawford of Hot Springs, and Hannah Wakefield of Huntsville, Ala.  Oboes/English horns are: Jessica Crociata of Tampa, Fla., Kellie Laughlin of Piggott, and Pamela Masterson of Homestead, Fla. Clarinets are: Mylie Brown of Walnut Ridge, Tony Saylors of Pocahontas, Samantha Vaughn of Pollard, and bass clarinet Terana Griffin of Jonesboro. Bassoons are: Bryan Eckert of Jonesboro, Carissa Porter of Jonesboro, and Tiffany Schmidt of Lakewood, Colo. Horns are:  Charnrit Rerngron-Asa of Thailand, Laura Thompson of Jonesboro, Rachel Smith of Benton, and Jeremy Lloyd of Gosnell. Trumpets are: Jonathan Monroe of Jonesboro, Meagan Conley of Jonesboro, and Jon Stevenson of North Little Rock. Trombones are: Treavor Mitchell of Jonesboro, Kade Holliday of Jonesboro, and Corey Spencer of Wynne. Tuba is Jay Shepherd of Paragould. Timpani/percussion are : Matt Boston of West Memphis, Gabe Brown of Newport, Seth Gaskill of Paragould, and Ben Merritt of Jonesboro.

This concert is free and open to the public.  For more details, please call the Music Department Office at 870-972-2094.


# # #

NewsPage:  |  Back to TOP  |