Arkansas State University


Markham Howe
Sara McNeil

(870) 972-3056
fax (870) 972-3069

More information:

Links to News Releases
& Announcements

Campus Calendar
Public activities at ASU

Campus News
Faculty and Staff

About ASU
Overview, history
and more

Department of Music presents ASU Concert Orchestra Thursday, April 3

March 25, 2008 --The Department of Music at Arkansas State University in Jonesboro will present the ASU Concert Orchestra Thursday, April 3, at 7:30 in Riceland Hall, Fowler Center, 201 Olympic Drive, Jonesboro. 

The ASU Concert Orchestra is under the direction of Dr. Neale Bartee. Musical selections will include “
New World Symphony” by Antonin Dvorak; “Symphony No. 7 in A Major”  by Ludwig van Beethoven; “Symphony No. 2 (the ‘Little Russian’)” by Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky; “Electric Horizon (Fanfare for Orchestra)” by Randall D. Standridge; “Piano Concerto No. 10 for Two Pianos,” featuring Luca Strazullo and Nicholas Alsup, by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart; “Sentimental Sarabande” from ‘Simple Symphony’” by Benjamin Britten; “Hungarian Dance No. 6” by Johannes Brahms; and “Themes from Superman Returns” by John Williams and John Ottman, arranged by Victor Lopez.

Personnel for the ASU Concert Orchestra include: first violins, concertmaster Kate Ryan of Memphis, William Overcash of Brinkley, Sebastian Tarkington of Jonesboro, Kill Keisker of Jonesboro,  Roby Johnson of Jonesboro, and Cecily Kennemore of Paragould; second violins, Ann Swaty, Hope Smith, Friedric Tarkington, Ellen Burns, Robert Burns, Anastasia Tarkington, and Brooke Bomeke, all of Jonesboro; violas, Paul Markowski of Jonesboro, Xavier Tarkington of Jonesboro, Chris Overcash of Brinkley, and Marcia Burns of Jonesboro; cellos, Meghan Matthews, Elaine Bartee, Richard Burns, and John Hegger, all of Jonesboro; bassist, Kevin Cremeens of Jonesboro; piano, Joy Sanford of Jonesboro; flutes/piccolos, Ashley Slayton of Paragould, Candice Crawford of Hot Springs, and Hannah Wakefield of Huntsville, Ala.; oboes/English horns, Jessica Crociata of Tampa, Fla., Kellie Laughlin of Piggott, and Pamela Masterson of Homestead, Fla.; clarinets, Mylie Brown of Walnut Ridge, Tony Saylors of Pocahontas, Samantha Vaughn of Pollard, and bass clarinet Terana Griffin of Jonesboro; bassoons, Bryan Eckert of Jonesboro, Carissa Porter of Jonesboro, and Tiffany Schmidt of Lakewood, Colo.; horns, Charnrit Rerngron-Asa of Thailand,  Jeremy Lloyd of Gosnell, Tim Hendrix of Jonesboro, and Amber Keefer of Jonesboro; trumpets, Jonathan Monroe of Jonesboro, Meagan Conley of Jonesboro, Jon Stevenson of North Little Rock, and Ben Light of Bald Knob; trombones; Treavor Mitchell of Jonesboro, Colton Morrison of Magnolia, and J.D. Hogue of Jonesboro; tuba, Jay Shepherd of Paragould; timpani/percussion, Cody Ivey of Pocahontas, Seth Gaskill of Paragould, Trent Duff of Pocahontas, and Ben Merritt of Jonesboro.

This concert is free and open to the public.  For more details, call the music department office at (870) 972-2094.




  NewsPage:  |  Back to TOP  |