Arkansas State University


Sara McNeil
Gina Bowman

(870) 972-3056
fax (870) 972-3693

More information:

Links to News Releases
& Announcements

KASU Public Newsroom
KASU Local News

Campus Calendar
Public activities at ASU

About ASU
Overview, history
and more

ASU Choirs to host Memphis' Mixed Choir of Overton High School, Oct. 12

Oct. 4, 2010 -- The Arkansas State University Concert Choir and Chamber Singers will present their Fall Choral Concert on Tuesday, Oct.12, at 7:30 p.m. in Fowler Center’s Riceland Hall. Joining the ASU Choirs for a portion of the evening will be the Mixed Choir of Overton High School, the magnet School of the Creative and Performing Arts of the Memphis City Schools. The ASU Concert Choir is under the direction of Dr. Dale Miller, director of choral activities.  Kyle Chandler, who currently serves in his second year on the ASU music faculty, directs the Chamber Singers. Brian Henkelmann will accompany both the ASU Concert Choir and Chamber Singers on both piano and organ throughout the evening. The Overton High School Choir is under the direction of Wendy V. Baker and accompanied by Letitia Glenn. The performance is free of charge and open to the public.

Members of the ASU Concert Choir rehearse under the direction of Dr. Dale Miller.

The ASU Concert Choir will open the program with an “in the round” performance of Lloyd Pfautsch’s setting of “The Star-Spangled Banner.” The Chamber Singers will continue the program by singing a variety of choral selections, some of which will also be performed in the annual Madrigal Feaste, to be held December 2-4. Their repertoire will be selected from the following: “Achieved is the Glorious Work” from “The Creation” by Franz Josef Haydn; “A Classical Alleluia” arranged by Earlene Rentz from two Italian art songs; “When I Was a Maiden” by Gail Kubik; “Cantan las Flores” by Michael D. Mendoza; “I’m Bound Away” by Donald Moore; “Rise Up Singing” by Henry Purcell; and “Tomorrow Shall Be My Dancing Day” by John Rutter.

The 46-voice Overton Mixed Choir is an auditioned group of 9-12 grade students. The singers are very dedicated to their art, and they have developed a true love for singing. Overton Choirs include a Chamber and Show Choir and have traveled abroad, as well as having received numerous awards throughout the United States. The Mixed Choir will follow the ASU Chamber Singers, and will perform selections that the choir is preparing for the West Tennessee Vocal Music Educators Association auditions later this fall. Their repertoire will include “O Holy Lord” by Nathaniel Dett, “Lift Ev’ry Voice and Sing” arranged by Roland Carter, “Skip to My Lou” arranged by Busselberg, and “Earth Song” by Frank Ticheli.

Following a brief intermission, Dr. Miller will lead the ASU Concert Choir in his edition of “Beatus vir, qui timet Dominum” by Johann Michael Haydn, “Vieni nel mio cuore” by Jonny Priano, a setting of “Ave Maria” by J. Michael Sanders, and Jimmy Rankin’s “Fare Thee Well, Love” adapted and arranged by James Quitman Mullholland. The Concert Choir will conclude with Moses Hogan’s driving spiritual arrangement of “The Battle of Jericho.”

The program will close with the combined groups singing three numbers which will include “And the Glory of the Lord” from “The Messiah” by G. F. Handel, Damon Dandridge’s arrangement of “Rockin’ Jerusalem,” and Peter C. Lutkin’s setting of “The Lord Bless You and Keep You.”

Personnel for the Overton Mixed Choir are: Brittney Chess, Rudi Currie, Brynesha Harris, Jade Hodge, Misty Ingram, Jasmine Johnson, Realan Lewis, Sarah Sissman, Sherrica Steward, Jasmine Stone, Ia White, Courtney Guy, Mariah Beasley, Erdajia White, Chelsie Crane, and Alexandria Bassett, sopranos;  Bria Brown, Clivona Burse, Jazmine Harding , CaShundra Carpenter, Keioni Hall, Raven Lewis, Alexis Madden, Paisley Parks, Amberia Rawlings, Bria Robinson, Tanesha Thomas, Danielle Tipton, Alexis Guyton, Raya Harris, Javiya Minor, Jasmine Moss, Aleyc Thomas, and Chelsea Leakes, altos; Marktavious Fields, Christopher McKinney, Adam Wiley, Clifton Jackson, and Dalvino Denson, tenors; Jonathan Ailsworth, Mason Causey, Myles Causey, Martez Higgins, Michael Pointer, Timothy Williams, and Philip Thomas, basses.

The Chamber Singers of Arkansas State include Crystal Aronson and Jessica Baldwin of Paragould, Katie Fischer of Jacksonville, Hannah McQuay, Becky Morrison, and Kari Rickman, all of Jonesboro, Katherine Richards of Osceola, and Kate Smith of Wynne. The Chamber Singers also include Jarvis Brodie, Kale McDaniel, and Christopher Orr of Jonesboro, Jacob Bushong and Jeremy Carter of Paragould, Cameron Hepler of Dexter, Mo., Nick Robbins of Manila, and Nathan Shelby of Bryant.

The Arkansas State University Concert Choir members are: Jessica Baldwin, Katie Fischer, Becky Morrison, Kari Rickman, Emily Garren of New Hope, Minn., Erin Reagan of Munford, Tenn., Ginah Smith of White Hall, and Tess Wheetley of Advance, Mo., first sopranos; Hannah McQuay, Kate Smith, Jessica Buford of Hot Springs Village, Suemone Christian of Bryant, Beth Dial of Malvern, Victoria Dryer, Abby Ganong, and Kei-Lynn Swindle, all of Jonesboro, Maegan Presson and Shanda Textor of Manila, second sopranos; Crystal Aronson, Katherine Richards, Cori Beasley of Gilmer, Texas, Michelle Byrd of Pine Bluff, Mercedes Grimm of Dexter, Mo., Paige Harris of Benton, Jesse Holder of Advance, Mo., Glory Smith of Alma, and Nadja Smith of Jonesboro, first altos; Megan Bishop and Sara Ray of Paragould, Harmony Cagle of Rector, Morgan Langley of White Hall, Janette Robinson, Sloane Simmons, Jazmine Sumler, and Jana Waters, all of Jonesboro, and Elizabeth Rountree of Hot Springs, second altos; Jacob Bushong, Christopher Orr, Adonias Finch of Dyer, Tenn., Courtney Hostler of Pine Bluff, Craig McAlister of Jonesboro, Adam McLoy of Batesville, and Louis Aaron Simpson of Memphis, Tenn., first tenors; Jeremy Carter, Nick Robbins, Nathan Shelby, Logan Bushong of Paragould, Jordan Griffin of Sherwood, Braelon Leniear of Little Rock, and Bill Weaver of Cabot, second tenors; Cameron Hepler, Kale McDaniel, Ray Fromme of Highland, Ill., Romero Harper of Wynne, and Jacob Kelley, Reid Shelton, Taylor Woodruff, and James Tritch, all of Jonesboro, baritones; Jarvis Brodie, Gabrien Brown of Newport, Blake Craft of Corning, Ryan Lee and Jeremy Smith of Wynne, and Ethan Pugh of Paragould, basses.

For more information about the concert or ASU music, please feel free to contact the music office at (870) 972-2094.

                                                       # # #

  NewsPage:  |  Back to TOP  |