Arkansas State University


Markham Howe
Sara McNeil
Gina Bowman

(870) 972-3056
fax (870) 972-3693

More information:

Links to News Releases
& Announcements

Campus Calendar
Public activities at ASU

About ASU
Overview, history
and more

Ninth annual Delta Awards for Tourism Achievement announced

June 2, 2009 -- The ninth annual Delta Awards recognizing tourism achievements in Eastern Arkansas were presented during festivities Friday evening, May 29, at the Paragould Community Center.

The event was sponsored by Arkansas Delta Byways (ADB), the nonprofit association recognized by the Arkansas Department of Parks and Tourism as the official tourism promotion association for 15 counties in Eastern Arkansas.  Counties include Arkansas, Chicot, Clay, Craighead, Crittenden, Cross, Desha, Drew, Greene, Lee, Mississippi, Monroe, Phillips, Poinsett, and St. Francis.

Arkansas Delta Byways is located on the campus of Arkansas State University-Jonesboro and receives administrative support through Arkansas State University’s Arkansas Heritage SITES (System Initiatives for Technical and Educational Support) Office.

Paula Miles,
executive secretary/treasurer, Arkansas Delta Byways, noted, "The event was hosted by Paragould’s  Regional Chamber of Commerce, Parks and Recreation, and Main Street Paragould. The Community Center was a great place to hold our banquet, and Karen Ellington’s catering provide a delicious meal and service. We thank Mayor Gaskill and all the people associated with these organizations for all of their support. Because of your contributions and bidding efforts, ADB raised $1,209 in auction sales. We want to thank everyone who attended."

For more information, contact Arkansas Delta Byways by telephone at (870) 972-2803, by fax at (870) 972-3200, or by e-mailing Paula Miles (         

Finalists for the awards were as follows, with the winner designated by an asterisk:

1. Media Support Award 
Occasions Magazine, Jonesboro
Tri-City Tribune, Marked Tree
*Kane Webb, Arkansas Democrat-Gazette

2. Hospitality Award
Crowley’s Ridge State Park, Paragould
*It’s a Wonderful Life Horse-Drawn Carriage Rides, West Memphis
Sunken Lands Regional Chamber of Commerce, Tyronza, Marked Tree, Lepanto, and Dyess

3. Entrepreneur Award
*Carriage Square, Helena-West Helena
Parker Pioneer Homestead, Harrisburg
Quapaw Canoe Company, Helena-West Helena

4. Tourism Support Award
*Henry and Julia Jones, Jonesboro
Piggott Area Chamber of Commerce
Ritz Civic Center, Blytheville

5. Festival/Event of the Year Award
Ding Dong Days, Dumas
*KAIT - Region 8 Good Neighbor Tour
West Memphis Blues and Rhythm Society - Remembering the Plantation Inn

6. Boot Strap Award
Lakeport African-American Cemetery Association, Lake Village
*New Hope School, Wynne
Danny and Barbara Adams, The Wall that Heals, Marked Tree

7. Promotional Award
ASU Museum - Grossology, Jonesboro
*Fireball Run Transcontinental Rally, Paragould
The Gladlands, Lee and St. Francis Counties

8. Outstanding Member Award
Lynette Graham, Chicot County
Sheilla Lampkin, Drew County
*Kathy Radomski, Arkansas County

9. Cultural Heritage Award
Central Delta Depot Museum, Brinkley
Hampson Archeological Museum State Park, Wilson
*Southern Tenant Farmers Museum, Tyronza

10. Tourism Person of the Year Award
*Arkansas Mississippi River Parkway Commissioners
Glenda Nichols, Drew County
Robert Patrick, Arkansas County



  NewsPage:  |  Back to TOP  |