Arkansas State University


Markham Howe
Sara McNeil
Gina Bowman

(870) 972-3056
fax (870) 972-3693

More information:

Links to News Releases
& Announcements

Campus Calendar
Public activities at ASU

About ASU
Overview, history
and more

ASU mechanical engineering team competes in human powered vehicle competition

May 5, 2009 -- Arkansas State University’s mechanical engineering team placed third overall in the utility vehicle and seventh overall in the single-rider competition in the American Society of Mechanical Engineering (ASME) Human Powered Vehicle East Challenge at Drexel University in Philadelphia, Pa., April 17-19.

“The ASU College of Engineering and the Mechanical Engineering faculty are very proud of the hard work and success of this year’s team in designing, constructing, and competing in the Human Powered Vehicle Challenge, “said Dr. Brad Edgar, associate professor of mechanical engineering. “This is a culmination of a year of challenging technical obstacles, fundraising efforts, and outstanding teamwork by the young men and women that participated.

Arkansas State University-Jonesboro's human powered vehicle team from left—Rob Ramage, Chris Bullard, Danielle Lovellette, Jeff Neyers, Liz Harrison, Justin Powell, Ben Hays, Russ Allen, Billy Meyers, and associate professor of mechanical engineering, Dr. Paul Sherman.

The utility team, named Redwolf Speed, powered its vehicle, known as The Howler, among vehicles from the field of 25 universities across the country. The vehicles were constructed to be environmentally friendly pedal-powered prototypes and aerodynamically designed for speed and endurance on designated courses. The vehicles were also judged on maneuverability, design efficiency, and practicality.

Requirements for the single-rider competition stipulated multiple riders, as in a relay race, and each team had to have at least one female participant.

Members of ASU’s utility team include Liz Harrison of Judsonia; Jeff Neyers of El Paso; John Davidson of Jonesboro; Billy Meyers of Jonesboro; Ben Hays of Pleasant Plains; John Hissam of Aledo, Texas; Justin Powell of Black Rock; and Ray Mullins of Newport. Single rider team members are Jon Landrum of Paragould; Danielle Lovellette of Cabot; Rob Ramage of Hernando, Miss; Don Hubbard of Jonesboro; Chris Bullard of Minturn; Brittney Hiles of Baton Rouge, La.; and Russ Allen of Beebe.

The event featured bicycle-like vehicles complete with engineering innovations which allow for functionality and optimum performance, structural soundness and safety. The single-rider and utility vehicles went through sprint, endurance, and skills competitions.

ASME is a non-profit professional organization that helps develop solutions to real-world challenges in the world-wide engineering community and enables knowledge-sharing and skill development across all engineering disciplines while promoting the vital role of the engineer in society.



  NewsPage:  |  Back to TOP  |