Contact us:

Links to more information:

Links to News Releases
& Announcements

Upcoming Events
Public activities at ASU

Campus News
Faculty and Staff

About ASU
Overview, history
and more

ASU Home Page


Arkansas State University

Jonesboro, Arkansas

Tom Moore
Frances Hart
Virginia Adams

fax 870-972-3069


Music Department presents Horn Choir,
Brass Choir and Tuba Ensemble

March 23, 2005--The Department of Music at Arkansas State University in Jonesboro will present the Horn Choir, the Tuba & Euphonium Ensemble and the Brass Choir in a joint spring semester concert on Monday, April 4, at 7:30 p.m. in Fowler Center, Riceland Hall.

The Horn Choir is under the current direction of temporary instructor of horn, Sherry Baker. The repertoire for the Horn Choir will include two works: “Prince Louis Ferdinand von Prussian March,” arranged by Herman Jeurissen; and “Lutzows Wilde Verwegene Jagd” by Karl von Stiegler.

Personnel of the Horn Choir are: Brannan Brown of Cabot, Kim  Brown of Forest City, Lauren Gray of  Poplar Bluff, Mo., Lauren Howard of Sherwood, Ashley Mcbryde of Highland, Meridith Pierce of Jonesboro, Phillip Pruett of Jonesboro, Rachel Smith of Benton, Beth Sullivan of North Little Rock, Natalie Woods of Crossett, and Jeremy Wortham of Paragould.

The Tuba & Euphonium Ensemble is under the direction of Dr. Ed Owen, assistant professor of Tuba & Euphonium. The program for the evening will include: “Make Our Garden Grow from Candide”  by Leonard Bernstein; “Ave Maria” by Tomas Luis de Vittoria; “March from  1941” by John Williams; and “St. Louis Blues” by W.C. Handy. 

Personnel for the Tuba & Euphonium Ensemble include: David Barrentine of Walnut Ridge, Andrew Biggs of Jonesboro, Corey Emerson of Poplar Bluff, Mo., Laura Garoutte of Cabot, Jennifer Hall of Tyronza, Brandon Hill of Marion, Scott Lackey of Bryant, and Forrest Rodgers of Jacksonville, euphonium; Nick Garrett of Trumann, John Hays of Jonesboro, John Hoskins of Paragould, Ryan Riley of El Dorado, Adam Savage of Bryant, Jason Tacker of Wynne, William Woods of Tunica, Miss., tuba.

Owen is also the director of the Brass Choir. The repertoire for the evening will include: “Canzona per Sonare No. 2” by Giovanni Gabrielli; “Rising Sun” by Tom O’Connor; and “Symphony No. 1 for Brass” by Brian Balmages.

Personnel for the Brass Choir include: Rob Alley of Jonesboro, Josh Gardner of Paragould, Grant Harbison of Jonesboro, Kate Puckett of Wilson, trumpet; Michael Baker of Bardstown, Ky., Brannan Brown of Cabot, Lauren Gray of Poplar Bluff, Mo., Rachel Smith of Benton, horn; Jared Huffmaster of Paragould, Matt Strawbridge of Jonesboro, Corey Spencer of Wynne, trombone; Corey Emerson of Poplar Bluff, Mo., John Hays of Jonesboro, euphonium; Jason Tacker of Wynne, Tuba.

The concert is free and open to the public.
For more details, please call the Department of Music at (870) 972-2094.

                                       # # #


NewsPage:  |  Back to TOP  |