Arkansas State University


Markham Howe
Sara McNeil
Gina Bowman

(870) 972-3056
fax (870) 972-3693

More information:

Links to News Releases
& Announcements

Campus Calendar
Public activities at ASU

About ASU
Overview, history
and more

Communication Studies program announces Best Speech contest winners

Nov. 20, 2009 -- Katie Studebaker of Manila won first place in the inaugural Best Speech contest, Tuesday, Nov. 17. The contest was sponsored by Arkansas State University’s Department of Communication Studies.

Studebaker, who is in Dr. Tom Baglan’s Oral Communication class, was one of five winners in the contest. McGraw-Hill Publishing donated a prize of $250 to each of the winners.  Her speech was on the history of Halloween. 

Other winners are: second place – John Mark Pierce from Brenda Randle’s class, “Lifeguarding;” third place – Jen Teeter from Sara M. Scott’s class, “Internet Addiction;” fourth place – Clinton Curtis from Linda Clark's class, "Peanut Butter & Jelly;" and fifth place – Mark Constant from Dr. Marceline Hayes's class, "Life in Music."

The contest had 400 students entered from Oral Communications classes.  Judges were Jonesboro educator Dr. Rusty Clark and department alum LaDawn Fuhr.  Each student presented a five-to-seven minute informative speech on a topic of his or her choosing.  The competition was organized by Sara M. Scott.

 # # #


  NewsPage:  |  Back to TOP  |