Arkansas State University


Markham Howe
Sara McNeil
Gina Bowman

(870) 972-3056
fax (870) 972-3693

More information:

Links to News Releases
& Announcements

Campus Calendar
Public activities at ASU

About ASU
Overview, history
and more

Alumni Association announces two scholarship recipients

Dec. 16, 2009 -- The ASU Alumni Association announces the recipients of two scholarships offered for the 2009-10 academic year. The License Plate Scholarship was awarded to Sonya A. McCall of Marianna, and the Debbye Turner Scholarship recipient is Chris Easley of Wynne.

The License Plate Scholarship is funded through the purchase of official Red Wolves license plates issued by the state of Arkansas and is awarded to a single-parent, non-traditional, in-state student with 30 credit hours and a m
inimum 2.0 grade point average. The License Plate scholarship for 2009Cordell McCall and Sonya A. McCall-10 was awarded to Sonya A. McCall, a single mother with an 11-year-old son. McCall is a junior who plans to graduate from ASU in May, 2011. She is majoring in criminology, having studied criminal justice at East Arkansas Community College in Forrest City where she was named to the Dean's List in 2007. She is the daughter of Sandra McCall and the late Theodore Curry.

McCall's career goal is to obtain her bachelor's degre
e in criminology, then earn a master's degree in social work. She says, "I appreciate receiving this scholarship because without it, I would not be able to attain my dream, which is to put my son, Cordell, through college and graduate school. Cordell wants to be an engineer or inventor and has attended the Bernard Harris Science/Engineer summer program at UALR. I hope to be an example to him by doing well in college, to obtain a rewarding job, and then to help put him through college as well."

The Debbye Turner Scholarship is named for Debbye Turner Bell, who was crowned Miss America in 1990 and went on to become a doctor of veterinary medicine. She has hosted several popular television programs, and is currently a member of the cast of 'The Early Show' on CBS-TV.

The tuition scholarship is offered to an entering freshman who is the son or daughter of an alumnus and who exemplifies outstanding qualities of schola
Chris Easleyrship and leadership. Candidates must have a minimum 3.0 GPA, be well-rounded, involved in school and community activities, and demonstrate national pride and civic-mindedness. The 2009-10 Debbye Turner Scholarship recipient is freshman Chris Easley, son of Carl and Cindy Easley of Wynne. Carl Easley graduated from ASU in 1985 with a master's degree in secondary education, and serves as principal of Wynne High School. Cindy Easley graduated from ASU in 1983 with a bachelor's degree in secondary education and received a master's degree in speech pathology in 1984. She serves as speech pathologist for the Wynne Public Schools.

Easley served as co-president of the First United Methodist Church youth group, and was vice-president of the Northeast District Youth Council of Ministries. As a football player for Wynne High School, he was named All State and All Conference. He received the Marine Corps Distinguished Athlete award and the Brandon Burlsworth award. He is the Fall 2009 pledge class president of the Kappa Alpha Order at ASU and earned the Community Service Award for devoting more than 100 hours of his time to serving others.

Easley is an undeclared major. He says, "I appreciate receiving this scholarship because it will help me pursue my college education, which in turn will help me to give back to the community."

PHOTOS, from top:
-- Scholarship recipient Sonya McCall, right, and son Cordell of Marianna
--  Scholarship recipient Christ Easley of Wynne



 # # #

  NewsPage:  |  Back to TOP  |