Arkansas State University


Markham Howe
Sara McNeil
Gina Bowman

(870) 972-3056
fax (870) 972-3693

More information:

Links to News Releases
& Announcements

KASU Public Newsroom
KASU Local News

Campus Calendar
Public activities at ASU

About ASU
Overview, history
and more

ASU Theatre announces cast for 'The Foreigner,' opening April 16

March 18, 2010 -- The ASU Theatre announces the cast of the April 2010 production of “The Foreigner,” a comedy by Larry Shue. A painfully shy man pretending to speak “no English” unwittingly uncovers secret plots and gossip among the denizens of a small rural fishing lodge in Georgia. His discoveries lead to a wildly funny chain of events where everything goes uproariously awry. “The Foreigner” will be performed Friday-Saturday, April 16-17, and Tuesday-Wednesday, April 20-21, at 7:30 p.m.  A “meet the company” dessert reception will follow the April 16 opening night performance. All performances will take place in Fowler Center, 201 Olympic Drive, Jonesboro.

The ASU Theatre’s production of “The Foreigner” is under the stage direction of Stacy Alley, associate professor of Theatre. Scenic design will be by Jeff McLaughlin, assistant professor of Theatre, lighting design will be by Bob Simpson, professor of Theatre, and Brent Foland, assistant professor of Theatre, will serve as costume designer. Joe Akers, a senior theatre major from Wynne, is technical director. Stage management duties for the production have been assigned to Paul Cootes, a sophomore theatre major from Hornersville, Mo.

The cast includes Kayla DuVall, a sophomore theatre major from Hot Springs, as Betty; Ben Griffin, a sophomore theatre major from Benton as David; Matt Morgan, a sophomore theatre major from Jonesboro as Froggy; Drew Bradbury, a sophomore theatre major from Hot Springs, as Charlie;  Aleigha Morton, a junior theatre major from Searcy, as Catherine; Rob Spencer, a senior theatre major from Leachville, as Owen; and, Michael Trevino, a sophomore theatre major from Long Beach, Ca., as Ellard. The townspeople includes Ashlea Armstrong, a freshman theatre major from Searcy; Daniel McFadin, a freshman theatre major from Springdale; Brandi King-Bost, a sophomore theatre major from Jonesboro; Jordan Seitz, a freshman theatre major from Little Rock; Whitney Conley, a freshman theatre major from Rector; and Josue Pollnow, a sophomore theatre major from Little Rock.

All seating is reserved, and tickets for reserved seating may be purchased in advance at the ASU Central Box Office in the Convocation Center, or by calling 972-ASU1. Tickets are also available online at --click the ticket icon or the tickets tab in the menu bar.  Reserved seating tickets, if available, may be purchased at the door on the evening of the performance. Ticket prices for ASU Theatre’s 2009-10 season performances are $10 in advance and $12 at the door. Purchasing tickets in advance is highly recommended.
Children younger than six years old are not admitted to the ASU Theatre. Please arrive early; latecomers will not be seated until intermission.

# # #

  NewsPage:  |  Back to TOP  |